We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer in the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orpheum Theatre

Orpheum Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Summer in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I recently was able to enjoy the Summer in the City Event at the Orpheum. I go to shows there alot and love to get the broadway experience, but for this event (and it is my second time going) we were able to see the support given by the Hennepin Theatre Trust and all that they do to keep theatre alive in Minnesota for those privileged and non, so that all people can enjoy the experience of theatre! Some that hosted the event were the food and beverage industry supporters like Rosa Mexicano, Rye Deli, Prairie Vodka, and Candyland to mention a few. The food was great, the tour of the theatre was a delight and the event seemed to me, a success. I am proud to support along with my sister, who allows me the chance to be involved!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeckyElston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    51
    18
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A beautiful theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've been many times to this beautiful theater. Usually a Broadway play, but also for Maya Angelou and the Chinese Dance Company. The acoustics are perfect, the seats are comfortable and sight lines are awesome. Great beverage service, too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank islandmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love their shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am a Broadway season ticket holder (first season was 2012). If you are a lady, try to go to the bathroom somewhere else beforehand or you will be waiting in a very long line before the show starts. The bar service is quick; NOTE that they automatically add tip on to any credit card transaction. Drinks are $6 - 8 with wine, beer and liquor options. We like to stop next door before the show, or also like to eat at Crave beforehand. If you are looking for seating recommendations, we usually sit in the last four rows of the side sections, and the view is still wonderful. I would not recommend sitting in the last 10 rows of the upper section as it becomes quite hard to see detail and there is a lot of miscellaneous noise that far up and back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank swmmer608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just walking in this theater is exciting! It makes you feel glamerous and has an old world oppulance to it. Another perk is that you can buy drinks and bring them into your seat. Bonus!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlueTravelers006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Widespread Panic @ The Orpheum Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful old theater. I like the views from the balcony.The Venue Sounds great. Minneapolis is a fun town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coloartist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orpheum Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Orpheum Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing