We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Theatre

State Theatre
Ranked #33 of 196 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have seen many shows here, the acoustics are great and not a bad seat in the house. Quite a few good music acts come through here and I'm always impressed. Drinks and beer are served. There is ample local parking, restaurants, bars and microbreweries.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelerRodUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An architectural masterpiece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The State Theater is one of four large theaters which house travelling Broadway Shows, musical events and dance in the Hennepin Avenue theater district. All have been renovated to bring them back to their original early 20th century grandeur.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomTheatreGoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved the production of War Horse. The theatre, beverages available, visibility with seating and excellent sound - made for a fantastic evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilly995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous venue!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have been to the state theater about 5 or 6 times. It's. Becoming one of my favorite places in the twin cities to go and watch an event. The parking is very and easy and very close. All kinds of restaurants and bars nearby. We saw Chicago play and they were fantastic. We saw Fleetwood Mac the night after at the excel,and we enjoyed the Chicago concert more. I think it was more about the venue. The state is just more intimate and convenient. I think it might have been the first time Chicago played at the state, I'm not sure. But they commented on a few occasion how nice the state was. It was like they haven't been there before. Anyway it was a great night and a great time. And I'm sure we will be back many more times.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mdsanoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Like the "feel" of this theater. Have gone here many times for several different types of shows and really like it. the location is great for dining, too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NancyLee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Theatre also viewed

 

Been to State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing