We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Unique Worship Experience”

Basilica of St. Mary
Ranked #14 of 206 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: nation's first basilica
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“A Unique Worship Experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The ongoing renewal of this "lower case" cathedral like CHURCH structure makes this building very unique and lends a feeling of greater future achievements to come here.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank CJEN512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    64
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Humbling”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very stoic and traditional masses. Good for an old alter boy who did the mass in Latin! Beautiful Church.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank rgpieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Experience”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Basilica of St. Mary is a truly welcoming and open Catholic community. Even if you are not Catholic or not sure you are welcome. I am always excited to share my faith and my church with others.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Concert!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I loved how much space there was for the Block Party! I still want to see the inside of the building.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy198125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grey Eagle, Minnesota
Level Contributor
584 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Huge and breath taking. Dont forget to look up. Magnificent ceiling. Located in downtown Minneapolis easy to get to and parking good. Every summer they have a block party that is well managed and fun.

Helpful?
1 Thank minneapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of St. Mary also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of St. Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing