We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Lake Harriet
from $450.00
More Info
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
447
126
17
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
447
126
17
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird sanctuary walking path twin cities nice walk bandshell bike picnic pavilion walkers winter minnesota
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 596 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2019

I was here for a bike ride. Last winter , Lake Harriet hosted the Art Shanty project with a number of art related ice houses. In summer, visitors can visit Bread and Pickles, a seasonal restaurant. Those interested in history can ride a streetcar north for a short ride on historic streetcars. A local group raised money to refurbish the lavish women's bathrooms. Music lovers gather at the Lake Harriet bandshell. Visitors can listen to a concert every day from June to August from a wide variety of performers. Ornithologists can bird watch at the bird sanctuary. The nearby rose gardens are beautiful in warm weather.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

We used to spend a lot of time on Lake Harriet Island, but the nature-Nazis have pretty much wreaked the experience. Used to be, there were ducks, geese, and even swans along the banks and the park was a really relaxed place to spend a summer afternoon. Now, there are park employees chasing the birds off and special events (usually weddings) that rope off substantial portions of the park for the use of the rich and powerful only. We go back once a year to see if it has gotten any better, but it has always been worse. The high cost of gentrification, I guess.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

As a lifelong runner in Minneapolis, I love all of the lakes and the Mississippi River paths, but Lake Harriet is my favorite. The pathway is tree lined and scenic, with a nice view of the Minneapolis skyline from the south shore. Three miles around makes it a great place for a walk also. Very nice restaurants one block to the west in Linden Hills or a few blocks south at 50th and Penn.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank michaeloE7195MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

My husband and I love to walk around this lake together. It's just the right size for a solid workout. And it's best on a weekday in the middle of the day; it's so popular you will want to avoid weekends if possible. We need to go back soon!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank CaptTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

How does one rate a lake? They are all scenic. I'd tell you how wonderfully deep it is, but I didn't plumb its depths. I just walked around it, and, boy, was it nice. Of course, you could say that about any one of this city's wonderful lakes.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank kozad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews