We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish eatery near Lake Calhoun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryg's - CLOSED

Tryg's
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West Lake St and Excelsior Blvd
Transit: There is a bus stop directly across the street at the corner of Lake and Market.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
476 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Stylish eatery near Lake Calhoun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Tryggs. I was able to eat at Nora’s before it was torn down and replaced by this newer and more stylish eatery close to Lake Calhoun. It has some distinctive features such as a rounded ceiling and a unique shared wash room area. Statues adorn the facilities as well and the space was well designed in terms of a outdoor patio towards the lake and then bar area with lots of windows and then the dining area towards the back near the kitchen. We have eaten dinner there a few times, but tend to stop in the bar area. Their limited desert menu was nicely priced and the 2 scoops of Sebastian Joes ice cream were super tasty. Our group enjoyed the vibe and on Saturday night they were brining in a DJ. Interesting place that we will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,010 reviews
797 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 926 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Enjoyed dinner on a Saturday evening. The play was lively, but not to loud to talk. I thought the menu was very good. Enjoyed a calamari appetizer, just a little more breading then I prefer, but it was tasty. Dipping sauce was excellent. Cocktails and beer were very good. Enjoyed salad entrees served with hot popovers and bread. Server was very attentive and friendly. Her recommendations were spot on. Owner/manager came around and made sure we were happy which is always a good sign of a well run restaurant. Didn't order dessert, but saw a few that looked amazing. I really enjoyed my meal and I thought the prices were very reasonable for the quality of food and nice atmosphere. Definitely recommend and will return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Delicious Thanksgiving meal with many choices. Delicious desserts, lots of traditional and healthful choices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Havingalovelyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
244 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ordered a bunch of appetizers and they were all good. Variety of wings were the best and the entree selection was decent as well. Played some old school music on Friday nights and dancing was going on. Not alot of room but the night was fun!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcdonapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Can't grill steak”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Ordered a rare steak. Came with outside that felt boiled and inside was cooked. Talked to the manager and he blew us off. Oh, and the waiter service was terrible as well. Got the salad wrong as well. Ad we dint even get water to start. Nothing good to say here. Will never go back.

Helpful?
Thank I V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tryg's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing