We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great & Different Decor; Average Food & Service”

Psycho Suzi's Motor Lounge
Ranked #79 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great & Different Decor; Average Food & Service”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were excited to try Psycho Suzi's because of its showing on the Food Channel's DD&D. The decor is just crazy great and what you would expect at a restaurant called Psycho Suzi's. We enjoyed it and lookded forward to our food experience. This is where the excitement faded away. There were five of us and none opted for Pizza. We understand that his is where a mistake might have been made. We all ordered sandwiches and found them to not be bad, but just average at best. We had high hopes after seeing the restaurant on TV, and the food was average at best. Service was marginally average. The server greated us promptly, took our order, and delivered the food acceptably, but then she went away. We were not offered refills on water or other drinks. For those drinking from the bar, I would think this would be a profit center that the restaurant woudl not want to ignore. What we experienced here was lots of hype, average food, and barely average service. The prior night we dined in a hotel restaurant for dinner and found the food and service there to be far superior.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    203
    70
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia Heights, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great drinks - fun atmosphere”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Food was fun and tasty, and not good for you but the drinks help you forget all that. It is a little loud in there at times but it adds to the fun!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best in the warmer months”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Met friends here for a birthday celebration and sat on the deck overlooking the Mississippi River. Great outdoor venue! Had their "specialty drinks" which were fun and pretty strong. Food was ok, service was good considering the place was packed! All in all, a very fun time with friends, but definitely a destination in the summer months.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
“Tax Scam”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

For the price, the food and customer service is average at best. They charge something like $10 for a specialty drink "deposit", it gets refunded, but not until they charge you tax on it. So they end up taxing you for something you didn’t really buy. Only a couple bucks, but I’m not sure that’s really legal or ethical. When I asked about it, the manager said he would "look into it" but I still ended up paying for it. Not ever coming back to a place that tries that hard to scam their customers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank land_sea_air_275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great view, good enough food, funky decor”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

went to this tiki bar with a group of 10. No reservations so must get there early so as to get a spot. great view of the Mississippi River. Extensive variety of drinks served in interesting ways. Food selection is small, but the sandwiches were varied and tasty. Our waitstaff person was a comedian of sorts, so interaction with him was lively. Upstairs lounge is better than downstairs and less crowded. Place to go if you want to be crazy, laugh a lot, and enjoy your friends. Don' t the tater tots, but forget about cholesterol. For the night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TortugaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Psycho Suzi's Motor Lounge also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Psycho Suzi's Motor Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing