We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old Fashioned Diner w/ Great Food”

Keys Cafe - Nicollet Avenue
Ranked #19 of 1,808 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Old Fashioned Diner w/ Great Food”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Set up like an old diner. tables and counter service. Sat at the counter for lunch with eight others. Everyone had burgers and fries and salads. All different style burgers. All delicious. I would highly recommend to all. But don't get fooled and garbage up on your meal leave some room, they have all kinds of pies, cakes, cookies and pastries, all are very good. I sampled many from our groups choices. We had a memorable lunch!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    166
    56
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always packed.”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I went for lunch and it was packed! My local host advised me that it's pretty typical that it is. After eating my party melt I can see why. It wasn't the best I've had but it was dang good. I liked the choices for fries too, as there are about four different styles to choose from.
Downside other than being packed is that it's a bit pricey for the basics.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CR-Roller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Great hometown feel and food. Service was fast and friendly and the food tasted fresh. Great portion sizes and tons of options. Truly
Enjoyed

Helpful?
Thank Jcook66775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast your way”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

My friends recommend this place close to our hotel. It did not disappoint us. Nice big American breakfast for a good price. Also quick and attentive staff. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

we went to this place based on the reviews from tripadvisor and its proximity to our hotel. Both the food and the server were unremarkable. The poached eggs arrived almost like hard boiled, the toasts placed on top of the hash browns were soggy and limp. But worst of all was our waiter.They did not have Earl Grey tea and instead of saying it, he insisted that the regular black tea they had was the same as Earl Grey. The tea basket only had one black tea bag in it. He went to get us another. It took him over 15 min and no tea bags; we had to remind him again. In the meantime the hot water cups had gone cold. Another waiter, took pity and brought us more hot water. It took our waiter a long time to bring us our check. When we paid with the credit card, he took his time with other things and did not bring the check in a reasonable time to our table. At last I went to the reception and asked for our check which was sitting next to her. All in all very poor food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina50952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keys Cafe - Nicollet Avenue also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Keys Cafe - Nicollet Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing