We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Vegan Restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ecopolitan Restaurant

Ecopolitan Restaurant
Ranked #335 of 1,790 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vegan Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I just started eating the Dr. Fuhrman way and am in need of restaurants that serve vegan fare. I found it in this restaurant and it is simply fantastic. It's a quaint home-turned-commercial building with several businesses in it. They have a small off-street parking lot and there is parking along a busy street. The food is just devine. I ordered the pesto pasta and the dish had zucchini spaghetti which was delicious but the spices and other veggies & nuts they used turned it into a heavenly, healthy dish.
We also shared a cheesecake with berry sauce and I believe it was even better than chocolate!!
We dined on the porch and enjoyed the nice breeze.

I can't wait to return and try each menu item.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mntravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    6
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I'm not even vegan and my dinner was divine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I had a hard time finding it since I was coming south down Lyndale and the trees blocked it while at the corner where my GPS said it was located. But it's just south of Urban Bean on the east side of the road in a little white house with a green awning. It has a homey atmosphere with some fun unique art decorating the walls. But the highlight of the place was the extraordinary food! The menu was small but diverse, and everything sounded so good it was extremely difficult to choose. I ended up having the trio sampler and the "raw"violi and the orange dream juice. All were exceptional and I left more than stuffed! My only complaint (and hence the 4/5 on value) is that there was a huge salad with the dinner, but the raw-viloi was just a few pieces. I would have like to seen a few more for the price, but it was tasty and the salad was great as well! You'd never know it was vegan, raw, or healthy! This is how food is supposed to be done and how it's supposed to taste! Absolutely divine! I will definitely be returning to try more on the menu and highly recommend everyone experience the complexity and satisfying flavors of Raw Vegan meals! You haven't lived until you have!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quwe464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fresh, raw, organic, vegan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 3 days in Minneapolis and this was our favorite lunch spot. It was delicious. Would definitiely check it out if you are hanging around south Minneapolis. It's on Lyndale and we will definitely be back! The food was extremely fresh and unusual. They don't cook anything but you would never have known it. they also have a great juice bar. I had the carrot, ginger, orange and it was refreshing and also delicious. No room for dessert!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joxxxxxjoxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unusual, but try it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Raw food is a bit of a cult. If you have some money, this is a good way to get introduced to it. Basically, raw fruits, vegetables and nuts are cleverly processed and combined to suggest various familiar cooked and non-vegan foods such as pasta, pizza, tacos, cheese, or soups. I had the Flax seed tostados with lentil taco meat. Then lentils are sprouted rather than cooked, and the tostado is made by spreading out a thin layer of flaxseed mash and drying it at low temperatures. This is heaped up with salad items and a good guacamole and a cashew "sour cream". It was OK - I give it 4 out of 5. The service was about 4. The smoothie I had was almost a 5. What brings it all back down to the 4 is that the prices are very high for the amount of food you get. I was full, but I think that was the smoothie. Which by the way tasted very creamy and chocolatey but had neither in it; it's a clever puree of dates, carob powder, coconut milk and pecans.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deborama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great raw food! Give it a try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

As a recently hatched vegan, I was intrigued by Ecopolitan's menu. The server asked if we had ever been there. Since we hadn't, she took the time to explain everything to us. My pasta was made of zucchini and was great! Served on a bed of spinach. They had a great wine list (all organic wines) and I enjoyed the Frey Sauvignon Blanc. Can't wait to go back in the summer time!

Helpful?
Thank MNKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecopolitan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ecopolitan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing