We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Restaurant on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Birchwood Cafe

Birchwood Cafe
Ranked #47 of 1,793 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Vegetarian/Vegan Friendly. Been twice and both times were AMAZING! First time I went they had live jazz music on the patio. Very eco friendly, support local, fresh food kind of place. Everything tastes homemade. Atmosphere both on the patio and inside is great.

Awesome specials throughout the week. Desserts are a must (no matter how full you are from your amazing lunch or dinner).

Easily, the best food I've ever had at a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ndlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    64
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Saved the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Original plan was to grab breakfast with vegan sister at Hard Times. Which was a first for me even after living in S. Minneapolis for years. Upon entering it was just too sketchy and not fun so headed to the always solid Birchwood which saved my day! My sister is still raving about her best breakfast ever in Minneapolis. Thanks guys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food & service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went to Birchwood for our first dinner in Minneapolis. The handpie was excellent & included eggplant, caramelized onions, and a zucchini coulis. The beer (Harriet IPA) was tasty, and the bread pudding was delicious! The staff was also attentive & responsive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenRunnerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good real food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The food is fantastic here all the time, inlcuding the sandwich and salad combo i had this time. But my favorite is the heirloom BLT which is only served when good tomatoes are available in August. I can't wait!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justinulysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All eaters great and small will be happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Birchwood Cafe is a very low key, seriously committed establishment. Committed to great food with low impact on the environment. Soups, baked goods, side dishes and fabulous smoothies abound. All ages appear happy with their choices. The place is no frills but it does have a nifty little outside eating area if you can deal with the heat and humidity in the Summer. It was worth going out of the way to find this place. I wish they would franchise their operation so we wouldn't have to go all the way to Minnesota for this quality of vegetarian food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birchwood Cafe also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Birchwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing