We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located if outing in downtown Minneapolis”
Review of Solera - CLOSED

Solera
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 9th Street
Transit: On Bus Route.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Centrally located if outing in downtown Minneapolis”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Solera is a great location right in Hennepin avenue near the theaters, the Twins ballpark, NBA location; in other words right there in the center of downtown activity
The service was good; as per the menu; considering this is the Spanish concept of tapas (small plates with samples) I think it is average (the list options is limited for a tapas place)
The best we tried was the Boquerones

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    69
    28
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I went here with 5 of my co-workers. The server recommended that we order about 3 items per person. This worked well as we all got to sample a good number of dishes. The bacon-wrapped dates were incredible. We also enjoyed the octopus w/ potatoes.

We ordered 4 of the deserts. The churros and chocolate caramel cake were both delicious.

The server did a great job on recommendations. Don't know what happened between dinner and dessert, but the delay had to be a good 30 minutes.

Overall, food was very good. Unfortunately, service was average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great to explore flavors and have a good time.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Solera offers many options offering a wide and diverse selection of tapas. Dare to explore new flavors. Chances are you will discover something that will surprise and delight you. Our favorite: pulpo (octopus). The service was also very helpful with suggestions and attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Paella”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Best Spanish Restaurant in Minneapolis, Minnesota
Try Paella, ham and cheese tapas
Great Spanish Wines and bread

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel_Goldszier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tapas done right”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We love to bring people here who haven't been before because the food is delicious and it is a great place to socialize. The experience is probably best with 4-6 people although I have been there with groups of 10-12.
Small plates that are meant to be shared are brought out at a pace that fills you up but doesn't get you overstuffed. With the large selection of items and some that change seasonally, you don't run out of things to try. Note that the rooftop menu is very different than the restaurant menu and not nearly as good in my opinion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelmo479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solera also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing