We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience”
Review of Solera - CLOSED

Solera
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 9th Street
Transit: On Bus Route.
Savage, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've been to Solera on several locations and have never been disappointed. Everything I've tried on the menu has been out of this world. This is the kind of food that just explodes with flavor--it's not a meal so much as an experience. Carve out plenty of time to savor each and every bite. Wine list is amazing and offers some very different selections that are hard to find in retail liquor stores. On top of all this, the atmosphere is lovely, the restaurant itself is beautiful, and usually full of classy foodie types enjoying themselves just as much as you are. It isn't the most highly esteemed among locals, but it is my personal favorite.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    69
    28
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My daughter and I recently enjoyed dinner at this wonderful restaurant prior to an evening at Pantages Theater. We were seated at a very nice back table and greeted immediately by our waitstaff. The atmosphere is elegant, with a warm fire to greet you. When my daughter did not care for the wine our waiter suggested, he offered a second and brought her a glass more to her liking. The scallops and cheese plate were wonderful. The roasted beet plate, no more than predictable. The vegetable paella was a bit mushy and yet some of the rice had bite -- the flavor, however, was very good. It turns out we received our neighbors paella - it takes extra time to prepare (which is noted on the menu). Valet parking allowed us to park, eat, and walk to the theater, return and pick up our leftovers which were refrigerated for us. My only wish is that they offered more traditional tapas as part of their menu, as they did when I first visited in 2009.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hudsonrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT SCALLOPS!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had dinner with friends at Solera on New Years Eve, overall we really enjoyed ourselves. Ian at the bar was great, and Steven our server was also very good at what he does. The food was above average, the scallops were out of this world. The veal was ok, as was the salad. The Pasta Tapas....AWESOME!! If I could give "half ratings" I would give Solera 3 1/2.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank triplejayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis,
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Spanish/Mediterranean food so far...”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We came here because we are craving for paella. Since it takes a little longer to cook it (we gather from our server), we ordered some tapas - they are actually good - torta, stewed lamb with couscous and the roasted beets. The lamb was our favorite. It was really good. Too bad it was just a tapas version. Wish they had it served too in big portions. We also did not know they serve bread. The bread was really good and the waiter was generous enough to give us quite a bit more while we were waiting for the main dish. The only real entree was the paella. It was good, a little bit oily and overcooked but it was the best paella we had in the Twin Cities...so far.
Their chocolate mousse cake was good too and the churros with the hot cocoa. The only downside was since most of their menu are tapas, it comes a little bit pricey for small portions of food. You end up racking up a huge bill if you want more....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank truthintraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Maybe we need to try again”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We met the owners one time, and thought to try it out. The food is good, and service is OK. The location needs to be cleaned up. Minneapolis has an overall problem with panhandlers in this area. This has gotten better than it was a few years ago.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solera also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing