We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you get a decent service, it would be ok.”
Review of Joe's Garage - CLOSED

Joe's Garage
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“If you get a decent service, it would be ok.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have been here 3 times and never had very good service, once my waiter just disappeared forever. This can really ruin decent food and a good location.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    43
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and rooftop atmosphere/view”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Joe's is located on the North end of Loring Park between the Basilica of St. Mary and the park, providing a perfect location to stop in for a bite to eat while enjoying Minneapolis. The food is good, not great, but on a sunny day it's tough to beat sitting on the rooftop with a local beer and the Basilica looking over you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellingJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great roof top patio, delicious mashed potatoes & a waitress that put my uncle in his place. :)”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

With the great weather we were having, a roof-top patio was just what we needed to kick back and relax after all the wedding busyness from the weekend. They even permitted us to make a reservation for the patio, which is atypical, in my experience.

Although the majority of our party were visiting from the West Coast, most were originally from the Midwest, or had lived there at some point, so the mashed potato bar was a high point. And when my uncle tried to make a smarta** retort to our waitress (in good fun, of course) she was quick with her reply. To which our entire table cheered. :)

At one point, the bells began ringing in the Basilica of Saint Mary located across the street. Although our waitress noted that this occurred on a very (very!) regular basis, we enjoyed the variety it provided to the already pleasant ambiance.

The only complaint is that the mixed drinks were entirely lacking in the alcohol department. A bummer, because a good margarita sure can sure help beat the hot weather.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedutchgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun staff, good food, and very neat roof top seating”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The roof top seating with nearby bar is very neat, and the staff certainly made the overall experience very fun. The food is the typical pub variety and quality. Go here for the neat atmosphere and the drinks and save the fine dining for some other place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great burger!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We popped in for a late lunch burger which was perfect. The place was empty at 3pm, so service was quick. And the beer selection was diverse, making choice an issue - this is a good thing! I wanna go back. Maybe tomorrow night~

Helpful?
Thank Hoffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Garage also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing