We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique choices, great delivery”
Review of Barbette

Barbette
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #156 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Uptown
Cross street: Irving Ave
Transit: Our intersection (Lake & Irving) is served by the 12, 17, and 114 bus lines. In addition, the Uptown Transit Station is located just 5 blocks away, servicing the following bus lines as well: 6, 21, 23, 53, 115. There is also a Nice Ride MN bike station located at Lake & Humbolt, just 2 blocks from Barbette!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique choices, great delivery”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have been a few times over the years, usually for brunch. That was our choice yesterday. I wasn't feeling great, so I got some simple eggs, toast, hashbrowns and bacon. I asked for the bacon "super extra crispy", which I always do. And it was fantastic! That was the best part. It is a nice, cozy atmosphere. The staff is pretty spot-on. The scones are awesome. I don't have really any complaints!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YelpSucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    80
    26
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced Average Cuisine”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I've given Barbette about five tries too many. This place is just OK. The seafood gets by as fresh but just barely. Steak tartare is relatively inexpensive at $12 but you get what you pay for in mediocrity. My companion had the truffle lobster and mushroom risotto which was much better after we sent it back to remove truffle. Too much going on there.

The french fries are consistently good though and the service is attentive. It gets by. Disguises itself as fun with trendy decor but really doesn't have the essence of a tasty, high quality dining experience.

Head across the street to Amore for a less average experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Artsy & Delicious French Cafe”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Every single one of the staff was pleasant from the moment we stepped in the door. The artsy decor and close quarters makes a friendly, cozy dining experience. I had the blueberry and lemon curd waffle and it was amazing. A great combination. The other person with me had eggs benedict and he said they were done just right, and tastefully. The presentation is lovely as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExportLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best brunches ever”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We went there for brunch. It was amazing. You get coffee in a cup with a plate. I think it taste better this way. Food tasted very good as well. I think with almost every meal you get these greens that are amazing. Simple stuff but they make it taste really good. Atmosphere is very inviting and relaxing. If you do not want to talk to anyone, you can just look at the pictures on the walls. Staff is very friendly.

Now I need to check out this place for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asta55113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Off the wall”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm not sure how this establishment was rated as one of the 10 top breakfasts in the Twin Cities, but they better think again. It has quite a variety of everything, e.g.; various clientele, various quality of foods, various servers. Not a family restaurant. The eggs benedict is apparently the best breakfast plate. The quality of the bacon and sausage is better than you usually find, but the bacon could have been served crisper. The hash browns lacked any flavor and were served cold along with cold toast, nor was the toast even buttered or any jam served. You had to request your coffee in order to get it served. Not sure what's going on with this place but I won't be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbette also viewed

 

Been to Barbette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing