We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable and friendly”

Egg & I - Lyndale Avenue
Ranked #393 of 1,793 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reliable and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have breakfast every Thursday at Egg & I. Why? First off - the staff is friendly and over the years have come to be like family. Second, though I rarely order the omelets, when I do they are great. Their breakfast specials are a bargain. If I can just make one criticism, the oatmeal leaves a lot to be desired.
For lunch, think more like late breakfast or good yummy greasy spoon. I love the Rueben, although it is nothing like I would expect in a New York deli.
Overall, it feels like home and is very affordable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harvey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staw Away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We picked this breakfast place solely based on the TripAdvisor reviews, and it was a HUGE mistake!

The first impression, the tables had a lot of ancient stains that have worked their way through the table and were quite gross. Next came the coffee in glass cups which were dirty at best.

The food came in in plates that were chipped and had cracks, and worst of all it was cold. I do not know who would like his breakfast eggs cold. At least I do not.

I like the "vintage" feel of the restaurants but I do not think this set up has anything to do with it. A truly waste of time and money. Will never try or recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbcglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Way to start the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

The skillet breakfast is fantastic. Be sure to order a caramel roll too. Large and tasty. Staff very friendly and refill the coffee cup often.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redhatter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brunch on New Year's Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Food is great - typical diner type food. I had lunch but everyone else had breakfast. Server was attentive even though it was very busy - we got our food quickly. We go back regularly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great relaxing breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

sat outside on patio. service was great, food was great, coffee was great. prices average for uptown breakfast. very relaxing. I will be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egg & I - Lyndale Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Egg & I - Lyndale Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing