We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun vibe, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chino Latino

Chino Latino
Reserve with OpenTable
Chino Latino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 1,794 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West Lake Street
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fun vibe, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

For years I have come here for the Tacos Morelianos which is a huge platter with all kinds of different meats, sauces, and cheeses. I cant seem to order anything else...however the last time I was there I tried the sushi and was excited to find that they actually have pretty darn good sushi here! I figured they are already trying to do too many types if food the sushi can't possible be that good. Well I was wrong. The vibe here is fun and ultra hip, a great place to go for a night out with friends. My only complaint is the music can sometimes be a little overbearingly loud.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    168
    81
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
568 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great selection, ambiance, but get there early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The menu was very interesting and had great variety without sacrificing quality.
Service was solid we were seated right away on a Friday evening around 7:15 or so and if we would have waited another 20 minutes we'd have been waiting all night. It got crowded quickly.
The decor was unique and had a cool lounge feel to it.
The food was king though and I won't go into 15 paragraphs to tell what I ordered. In short, it was fresh, delicious, and suitable portions.

If I were visiting Minneapolis again I'd definitely check this place out again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingHuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a fun place this is! The menu is fascinating and everything we tried was delicious. The drinks are also interesting and delicious. We tried food from Cuba, Brazil, and The Caribbean. Everything is served family style so it's great to try different things. Can't wait to go back! It was a bit pricey but there are happy hour deals if you plan your visit at the right time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Equator Foods - Less Continents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was told this restaurant focused on foods from cultures that are along the equator - not sure if that's true - didn't see anything remotely african on the menu. That being said, the food was tasty, and the environment funky. The restaurant is physically HUGE - spanning two floors. Walking through it on a Saturday night felt like a scene out of a current-day miami vice (really no idea why) - the crowd was very chic and edgy, and people appeared to have a good time all around.

The food was fun - great selection and despite having a fairly compact menu, there was tons to choose from for everyone. As a note: our waitress suggested two entrees, which I thought was not going to be near enough - and I was wrong - it was plenty of food. You can always order more, so don't over order!

I would recommend going.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PlatinumStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, and electric atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

So many on a menu that is so unique. Strong recommend Chino for a dinner for 2 or a group of 12 for dinner.....Drinks were also great tasting

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bretmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chino Latino also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Chino Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing