We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an incredible experience”
Review of Vincent - A Restaurant - CLOSED

Vincent - A Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 11th & Nicollet
Transit: 11th or 12th and Nicollet
Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“an incredible experience”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Try the tasting menu. The monkfish is superb. The lamb is tender and flavorful. But, if you cannot decide, try the tasting menu. The wine-by-the-glass was not as good a buy as the decently priced bottles. And, by all means try the crème brulee and the crème taster. Overall, a gem of a place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveler_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    78
    20
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable...”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Overall food quality is good with some classic French dishes. I had a wonderful corn bisque with smoked trout and the escargot is top notch. The location on Nicollet makes the outdoor view interesting. Service is ok but remindful of some snippy restaurants I have been too in France. All in all this is a pretty good experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“nice French restaurant”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Chief very humble, staff welcome and food so delicious. ice cargot and duck + bean + macaroni + ham so delicious!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank VictorDragono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
460 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Charcuterie board and Cheese Plate were great for a late dinner when we arrived in downtown MInneapolis on a Friday evening. They have a great wine selection, of which our server made a number of recommendations in varying price ranges. When we chose our wine we asked for a recommendation on some appetizers to share from a few of our choices, and we went with his recommendation of the Charcuterie board and Cheese Plate. It was a great pairing and we really enjoyed our meal at Vincent! It was only my second time here, and both times the experience has been amazing!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nfriesen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dear Bartender, "snide" does not translate well”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We love Vincent. Having lived in France, I love knowing we have a place we can find great food, French cheeses, incredible entrees and a warm atmosphere for our nights out. Please enjoy the dining room, but for the love of everything bon, SKIP THE BAR. The bartender that has been there every time we've tried to eat there has been aloof, distant, too busy to attend to us and full of snide remarks. He has fancy vodka pouring skills but completely misses the boat when it comes to fulfilling his part in making an expensive, fine dining experience a great one. We have tried again and again, but are done putting lipstick on this cochon. Ce n'est pas la peine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GretchenB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vincent - A Restaurant also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing