We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an old favorite”
Review of Vincent - A Restaurant - CLOSED

Vincent - A Restaurant
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 11th & Nicollet
Transit: 11th or 12th and Nicollet
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“an old favorite”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Vincent has been around for a long time. We've not been for awhile, so had a very nice pre-symphony dinner. Reservations are chaotic; Open Table did not show Vincent, and the Vincent reservation portion of the website isn't working. We phoned, and then were called three times to confirm, and each time when we called back no one could find the reservation, including when we showed up! There's a bit of chaos at the front door with the outdoor dining but once settled our service was very good and we had a pleasant meal. Frog legs and English spring pea soup were good as were the scallops. The halibut was a bit dry and the eggplant/pepper side was greasy and limp--overcooked. Vincent's favorite dessert was simple and the chocolate sauce superb. Nice mix of wines at various price points.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    78
    20
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A gem in downtown Minneapolis!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a great restaurant. Large open room. You never feel crowded. The food is wonderful and perfect portions. Wait staff is always courteous and friendly. Highly recommend for lunch or dinner!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank athena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Taste of France in Minneapolis”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Vincents on the corner of the Nicollet mall and 11th has an menu that changes frequently.Yet Vincent always has something new and delicious for one's palette We had Alaskan Halibut last week which was not too dry very,tender with a wonderful sauce.He also has frog legs as appetizers which we have not tried yet Delicious escargot .He has had Hudson Valley Foie Gras ,very good. And he usually has scallops,different fish dishes,duck and we have tried the wild boar.He usually has something new to try and we have enjoyed out last few dining experiences. And you might run into Osmo Vanska or Andrew Litton,conductors the Minnesota Orchestra there or members of the Orchestra. Try it

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CACTUSWREN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good cuisine and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

A very diverse menue, with fresh food and great service. Wonderful dessert menu. I would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KManNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“superb cuisine, service, atmosphere”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you are in Minneapolis looking for a sensational evening of fine dining, an incredibly accommodating staff, first-rate service that seems almost personalized, outstanding wines and very fair prices, do not miss Vincent. The chef is from Southwestern France and he does conjure up his own version of those signature dishes foodies love to hate. But he also creates astonishing tasting menus and traditional entrees that will please any discriminating palette. The Waitstaff is warmly friendly and personal yet unobtrusive. We visited twice, once while making an evening of it and again while needing to rush off for a concert. Both experiences were perfect. When we are in the area again, we will hurry back to Vincent.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaestroAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vincent - A Restaurant also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing