We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, friendly service, great spot”

French Meadow Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #95 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 26th Street
Transit: The bus lines 4 and 113, stop at our corner, 26th Street and Lyndale Avenue S. For more information, www.metrotransit.org.
Description: Welcome to the first Certified Organic Bakery in the USA! French Meadow began baking organic yeast-free bread in 1985. On the forefront of healthy, organic baking, we opened the popular Uptown cafe in the early 1990's by customer demand, and have been serving healthful gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian, local, organic and natural foods ever since. With the growing demand for fresh and innovative food, we were able to expand the cafe in 2013 to include Bluestem Bar, offering full table service, a selection of sustainable wines and local taps, and a private dining room.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh food, friendly service, great spot”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

On a recent trip to Minneapolis, a friend took me to French Meadow Bakery. This casual dining spot was great. The menu has all kinds of organic options, including meatless and vegan dishes. The food I tried (the breakfast quesadillas) was made of simple, fresh ingredients with great flavors. I loved the tortilla and fresh guacamole!

I didn't love that you had to order at the counter and then find a table. It was pretty busy at brunch time on Saturday, so it stressed me out a little to have to pounce on a table after we ordered our food. We ended up getting a table very quickly, so I guess it wasn't that big of a deal.

I was really satisfied with the food, and also very excited to find out that they have another restaurant at the Minneapolis airport with a more limited menu. I ordered a sandwich before my flight, the Grilled Rachel (Wild Acres smoked turkey, sauerkraut, Swiss cheese, tomato-­‐caper aioli, on organic sourdough rye) and it was delicious!

I posted some pictures on my blog, for a better idea of the experience: http://hungry-games.com/2013/05/20/french-meadow-bakery-cafe-minneapolis-mn/

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    128
    47
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the bet restaurants in Minneapolis!! Organic and healthy!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to French meadow for years and LOVE it!

I only like healthy organic food and I can find fantastic options at French meadow! I am also gluten free and have options galore on their menu.

The environment in lively, friendly and comfortable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
286 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Most excellent array”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Of salads, sandwiches and innovative farm to table fare. We keep going back even though other places beckon. I like the staff too. Very pleasant and helpful. Baked good also great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. We were there for lunch with our daughter who is vegan. We all found entrees that were very pleasing. The atmosphere had a nice vibe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Gourmet Organic Airport cuisine”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Delicious airport fare. Many vegetarian and vegan options. Very quick service (helpful since this French Meadows is in the airport terminal mall). The Roasted Beet & Pear salad is the best ever with organic greens. The Berry Shortcake with real whipped cream is almost a meal in itself. My waitress was more than accommodating allowing me to try samples of some of the dishes before ordering. Serving sizes are ample. I would come here again anytime I am passing through MSP Airport.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scherne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Meadow Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to French Meadow Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing