We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good food”

FireLake Grill House & Cocktail Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
FireLake Grill House & Cocktail Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Hennepin
Transit: 2 blocks from the light rail. 1/2 block from bus route.
Description: FireLake embodies the flavor of flame and features a menu that takes its inspiration from traditional Minnesota cooking techniques. The menu features a passionate exploration of fresh, local ingredients and unique flavors that can only be delivered by real burning wood.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good service, good food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Good. Service was very good when we went. A good meal in a simple, not too fancy place.

Menu selection was a little slim, from a simple midwest perspective - I was hoping for a few more cuts of beef to choose from.

Menu leaned a bit more toward fish, pork, lamb... All good choices and well prepared, The pork chop my wife had looked fantastic.

About $45/person including a drink and tax.

Overall a good Friday night dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plexiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    99
    41
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I made reservations online. Our table was ready when we arrived. Our waiter was a true professional. The food arrived at the table hot. I would definitely return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank msb345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food was good but service wasn't the best”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Came here for dinner with a few colleagues as we wanted a local place that was well reviewed. They are located in a RadissonHotel right across from the Marriott in Minneapolis. Overall the place was good, the venue was more of a bar type feel than a white table cloth type restaurant.....so better for casual dining which we were looking for. We ordered a few salads, which were all really good, could have used a bit more dressing but they can always bring that. The Mushroom soup was excellent, and the flat bread pizza was very good as well, a little well done but good. The service was an issue here, our waitress looked busy, maybe they were understaffed that night or not expecting the crowd that came in but by no means was it busy inside. Forgot to bring out one of the meals and then asked if there was anything else she can get us and we said the salad and she made it sound like she didn't forget but she clearly did because it took at least 5 minutes to get the salad and I guess it was rushed. Didn't really come by and ask how things were if she did she would have noticed we had a few empty glasses. Such a shame as the food was good and here they are with the ability to control the service piece of it and they can't do it. If the service was thee this would easily be a 4, possibly even a 5.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antecroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good, consistent food.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I've never been disappointed. Also, they offer duck confit most of the time and that always makes be happy. Their roasted chicken and wild rice/mushroom soup is very good. Very nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything we have tried is delicious”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have enjoyed every morsel I have indulged IT at FireLake Grill. Wonderful quail legs wrapped in bacon Wild rice soup .Potatoes fried so thin just like a potato chip.. Onion rings wonderful Popovers that melt in your mouth Divine Desserts,,What a wonderful dining experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CACTUSWREN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FireLake Grill House & Cocktail Bar also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to FireLake Grill House & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing