We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Travel to Cuba without leaving MN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victor's 1959 Cafe

Victor's 1959 Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Victor's 1959 Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 1,778 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West 38th Street
Transit: We are on the corner of West 38th Street and Grand Ave South in Minneapolis. Both streets are major bus lines.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Travel to Cuba without leaving MN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have dined at Victor's twice so far. Both times I had a good time, ate good food, and left wanting to quickly return! Whenever we are in Miami we treat ourselves to Cuban food. It is wonderful having Cuban fare right in the heart of Minneapolis - minus the airfare! I've enjoyed the vegetarian dish and especially like the salsa that comes with it (I asked for a second helping of it). Fruit juices are refreshingly tropical and delicious. I have yet to go there for breakfast/brunch, but I've heard it's wonderful as well. This spot is very tiny (its part of the charm), so I strongly suggest making a reservation. Bring your marker and leave your "mark" on the walls/ceilings!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EPMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    86
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Finally got to Victor's after hearing about it so many times from my sister and brother-in-law who live nearby. Had the extremely delicious Ranchero Cubano for breakfast - can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aravasouth_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
230 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A taste of Havanna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I found this small "hole in the wall" on line and it sounded wonderful. Authentic Cuban food that was big on taste and quite moderate in price. The Ropa Vieja was amazing, full of flavor (garlic, onions, peppers, sherry and beef), simmered till the meat was tender and delicious. The Lechon Asado, was also good, but was a bit dry. The plantains and yucca were also very good and it was nice to be there for the half priced wen during "happy hour". I would like to go back and try dome of their other dishes that also sounded fantastic. The decor was funky and fun and the service was quick and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Thank Diners, Drive-ins and Dives for this gem. Doesn't look like much from the outside, would probably drive right past without a second glance if you were uninformed. Not much seating, so plan ahead with reservations, or enjoy a beverage or two while you wait. Our server was excellent, willing to make a couple recommendations for food choices that were outstanding. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doverlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Guy Fierra got this one right, Victor's is AWESOME. Service was outstanding, food was wonderful, atmosphere was great!!! Yuca Fritas appetizer was one of, if not the best, preparations of Yuca I have had. Our party tried everything that DDD tried and we loved it all (each item is singled out on the menu). It's a small busy restaurant, so make a reservation. They will honor it. This place will be a go to from now on. Nicely done staff!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njb6q6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's 1959 Cafe also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Victor's 1959 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing