We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch!”
Review of Victor's 1959 Cafe

Victor's 1959 Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Victor's 1959 Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,808 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West 38th Street
Transit: We are on the corner of West 38th Street and Grand Ave South in Minneapolis. Both streets are major bus lines.
Twin Cities, USA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

One of the most unique restaurants in the twin cities. Blink and you'll go right by it.

Not an overwhelming lunch menu. But this just eases the decision making process.

I ordered the Cubano sandwich(apparently has been on FoodTV) with the salad and house dressing which was delicious, and my friend ordered the BBQ pork with rice and beans. Half way through we traded sandwiches.

They both are delicious and very different. The BBQ pork was unique and delicious, but for my money, I'll take a Cubano.

There wasn't a crowd when we went. But the interior still seemed tight. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable, offering suggestions when prompted.

I enjoyed the experience and it's worth a 2nd trip for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    104
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, MN
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Viva Victor's Cuban cuisine”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Who'd expect authentic, incredibly tasty Cuban cuisine in a funky corner cafe in south Minneapolis? Forget that the walls are covered in patron's scribbling in both English and Spanish, forget the colorfully vibrant oilcloth tablecloths, and forget the small wooden booths right out of a 50's small-town diner. Once you taste the incredibly "home-cooked" bounty served there, you'll become a passionate fan of Victor's! Right down to the sides of yucca fritas to the fried plantans, the dishes offer all the fresh, hot tastes of absolutely home-cooking, rare to find in even the best restaurants. I have been a patron of Victor's for over ten years and my favorite breakfast tastes exactly as wonderful as it did the first time I tried it - absolutely consistent in flavor and quality. Food Channel's Rachel Ray featured Victor's a few years back and that added to the existing popularity of the place. Yes, you'll sometimes have to stand in line to get a booth inside or a table on the outdoor patio, but it is ALWAYS worth the wait at Victor's 1959 Cuban!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wavetamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cuban food, funky decor, tiny building, great experience”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This very small neighborhood icon churns out terrific Cuban breakfasts, lunches and, except Sundays & Mondays, dinners. And it's all great with a range to suit both timid and adventurous palates. Amazingly this tiny café has an even tinier bar but they have both a breakfast and dinner happy hour (mimosas $4).

This is a tiny converted and slightly expanded former Dairy Queen stand. Indoors it probably only seats 25 - 30 people in booths and 4 more at a counter/bar. There is a little outdoor seating with a street view. Inside the decor is grand funk. The booths, benches and walls are wood with handwritten personal notes on every available space that's not covered by an old Cuban poster of some sort.

Did I mention that the food is great? Bring the kids, be prepared to wait to get in and have a ball.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuban food!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was awesome! It's a small place so larger groups may not find it accommodating. It was nice to leave our mark once we were done eating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good, but probably would not go back”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The place if very small and crowded. They do have outside seating in nice weather. The food is okay, not fantastic. It is a place you should try but I can not rave about how great it is. Not a lot of food for the money. I did not feel full, but we did have breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's 1959 Cafe also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Victor's 1959 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing