We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best sushi in Mpls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origami

Origami
Ranked #161 of 1,779 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Mpls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is tucked away in DT Mpls in the Warehouse District, but across the river from Northeast Minneapolis. It is hands down the best sushi I've had in landlocked Minnesota. The beer and cocktail selection is also superb. The waiters and waitresses have always been knowledgeable and friendly. If you are interested in sustainable seafood, they can tell you what on the menu to order. The sashimi is delectable. I've never had anything bad on this menu. The wait can be awhile, but there is an upstairs bar for waiting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    46
    20
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tempura I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've had sushi in a fair few places around the world anf there's a street cafe in Sydney that was the benchmark for tempura. Origami has just raised the bar. It's light and perfectly cooked. The octopus and calamari was so tender. Clealry fresh produce and not overcooked.

The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable and the sushi and sashimi I had was after my temprua was equally good.

A not to miss restaurtant if you ever visit Minneapolis.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Macdonald_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
254 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Origami continues to be the best sushi in Minneapolis. They have a close competitor now that Masu is open, but back to Origami. They always serve fresh and consistantly delicious nigiri/maki. Origami isn't fancy, but it's a good spot. I look forward to the Uptown location. Mpls location has a decent happy hour so look for that. Cool to sit at the sushi bar as well, the chefs suggest good options.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wuzed111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bottom line: Best Sushi in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

IMHO - Hands down best sushi in minneapolis/St. Paul!! I reccomend letting the sushi chef pick out w/e he feels like making, and you will enjoy it!

It's also neat sitting at the sushi bar and watch them make it.

A minneapolis must if u like sushi!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very fresh tasting fish, great rolls, terrific service. This is my #1 sushi place when here on business. As good as the top tier places in New York.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origami also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Origami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing