We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great eatery in Northeast Minneapolis”
Review of Jax Cafe

Jax Cafe
Ranked #43 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 20th Avenue
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great eatery in Northeast Minneapolis”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

It is not downtown, and might seem off the beaten track. This is a very popular place with the locals. It might not get that much visitor trade, but the food is excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    71
    34
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but good.”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a reservation for 8:00 and got there just a few minutes early. We ended up waiting 25 minutes at the bar. The drinks are really expensive but the bar tenders were friendly. Once we got seated it forever to get water or bread. We had to ask multiple times and the table behind us who were seated after us got theirs long before we got ours. Don't order their specialty drinks, they are really expensive and are very weak on alcohol. The waitress was friendly. Our food was delivered except for mine. She delivered everyone else's food and didn't come back for 20 minutes to check on us so I didn't get my food until nearly everyone was done eating. One person had to send their rib-eye back because there was literally no meat on it, it was all fat. Overall the food was OK and very expensive. The service was not worth what I paid for my food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well Established”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A little on the old fashioned side could be just a bit more up to date. You expect the older look but enough is enough. Clean and neat is the key.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ambiance”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you like panelled walls, excellent food and great service this is the place for you. In the summer the patio with the water falls and your dinner swimming by. Great atmosphere. They always inquire if you are celebrating anything special since they like to acknowledge those special occasions.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chath65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
236 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Special Occasion winner”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a coupon and decided to celebrate our anniversary at Jax. Upon making the reservation they asked if we were celebrating anything and I told them we were. You will receive a little item with your names on it.

We started with the special pierogi which was butternut squash and it was very good. The clam chowder was also very good but could have used more clams.

For the main course my husband ordered the prime rib and deemed it excellent. I had the filet mignon / scallops combo and it was also excellent and served rare as requested. My only complaint was that there were only two scallops. And they were large but not jumbo. For $49.95 they could have added 2 more scallops.

The biggest rave was the au gratin potatoes. They were so good and cheesy - don't pass them up.

We also had the creme brule duo for dessert and split it. There were two mini creme brules (vanilla and pistachio) and were light enough to cap the meal.

The ambiance was nice with a piano player but she is done pretty early for a Saturday night. Dress was business casual more than anything else.

It was a fantastic meal but at these prices we will reserve it for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jax Cafe also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Jax Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing