We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful evening”
Review of Restaurant Alma

Restaurant Alma
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Alma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,807 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $52
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: University / Dinkytown
Cross street: 6th Avenue SE
Transit: #6 Metro Transit Bus
Burlington IA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We truly enjoyed our evening at Restaurant Alma. The service was outstanding. Our server listened to us and had a great understanding of the menu. The dishes were all creative, I would never have thought of a celery root flan.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    54
    23
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service, ambience”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Took a colleague and out-of-town guest here--probably my 3rd time here in 7 years. Proud to be able to have such outstanding Minnesota cuisine. One of us ordered the $50 tasting menu, and two of us ordered the $40 vegetarian tasting menu. For the omnivore menu, you order from about 4 options for each of the 3 courses. For the vegetarian menu, you order 3 options from about 6. All of the courses were savory--dessert was separate. All courses for all of us were excellent. The waiter helped us choose an amazing $37 bottle of wine. The pacing of the meal was amazing. One of us lingered over a course because we were chatting and the waiter asked if she could warm the dish again. So thoughtful, attentive, lacking in pretense, but all the quality of a high end restaurant that you would find anywhere. All around excellent quality. We were so full from the 3 courses that we couldn't even contemplate dessert. It was a beautiful evening and well worth the price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoDp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of the top places to go for a romantic dinner in the city. Alex and his staff are fantastic front and back. Always have something interesting that keeps us coming back for more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go to spot for excellent food”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Restaurant Alma is fantastic. One of my top 5 favorite places in Minneapolis. The food is high quality and for $50 for a 3 course tasting, an excellent value as well. Service is always excellent as well. A great special occasion restaurant with a fantastic menu!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erhovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Atmosphere gets my vote even above the food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had been to Restaurant Alma with my husband perhaps 8 years ago and we never went back because we found the food too 'complex' and the waitperson too 'snooty' for our taste. However I went to Alma last week with a girlfriend and we had to sit at the bar because all tables were reserved. It turned out to be a lot of fun. The restaurant's space is very attractive with a cosy ambiance while having modern decor. Of course the conversation was an important aspect of this enjoyment but the waitperson behind the bar was outstanding: a young man in his early 20's, he really knew about the restaurant's wines, their menu and has a delightful personality to top it off. I ordered a la carte but when it turned out that the soup I ordered was cream-based and being lactose intolerant (at least to cream and ice cream) I had to choose another item, I was informed my two glasses of wine were gratis. That was unexpected and a lovely thing to do. I have to say that I don't recall anything really outstanding about the food but the wine was excellent. My friend had the 3 course dinner and selected 3 different meats and said they were all delicious and she was going to bring her husband to Restaurant Alma over the following weekend as the food was outstanding. I will attempt another visit with my husband after the fun and lovely time I had last week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Alma also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Restaurant Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing