We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Zelo

Zelo
Reserve with OpenTable
Zelo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,793 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 9th
Description: At Zelo, we serve simple, fresh Italian cuisine made from local ingredients. Our handcrafted meals accompany a thoughtful, approachable wine selection. We believe dining is more than a menu: it is an experience, and ours is quality. When you’re our guest, our staff learn your name and remember your favorite glass of wine. We passionately commit to bring you the full dining experience – quality food and wine presented with welcoming service. Every meal. Every day. An enduring Minneapolis destination, Zelo was opened in 1999 by Rick Webb, a Minnesota restaurateur whose pursuits have set the standard in Twin Cities dining for over 40 years. Looking for another unparalleled dining experience in the south metro? Visit Rick Webb’s acclaimed Ciao Bella, the restaurant that inspired Zelo’s handcrafted food and dedicated service.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went there for a business dinner - they put us right at the entrance to the kitchen, so waiters literally kept tripping over us for the whole meal (why is there a big table right there!?), and also it was rather loud. Our waiter was nice and tried enough, but was over-descriptive and it seemed to take forever for him to read off the specials, to the point that it was getting kind of awkward. The food was pretty good but not spectacular. Prices were a bit on the high side. If I'm paying that much, I'd rather go elsewhere, honestly. This place sort of felt like an independent Cheesecake Factory, in terms of decor and ambiance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PghIrishHarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    310
    47
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
136 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great place for business dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I really liked this place. They have good food, great atmosphere, downtown location, and wide selection on the menu. The waiter was initially attentive and a professional, but he was seated with two larger parties back to back and we didn't see him until it was time to get the check...my only complaint and the only thing holding me back from a 5 star rating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seven21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Zelo's Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I went to Zelo's on November 29th 2012 while on a business trip. It was recommended by the hotel bar manager.

This place is awesome!

As a starter I had the lemongrass crab cakes with lump crab, vanilla, avocado. Sounded a little odd but was awesome! Best crap cakes I can remember.

For a main meal I had the walleye milanese with mashed potatoes and marinated tomatoes. I have never had walleye ans wasn't real sure about it. As it turns out this may have been the best, if not defiently one of the best, fish dishes I have ever had. It was cooker perfectly and every, lite and flaky.

The environment was great and the service was awesome.

To top if off Zelo's is on the parade route for holidazel which which really cool!

Check out Zelo's at http://www.zelomn.com/

Check out the Holidazel parade which runs every night for 3 weeks at http://www.holidazzle.com/

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ambience and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had a great dinner while @ Mnpls in Oct. We were a group of 5, and we got good seats right next to the large windows, with a view to the street outside. The host was very helpfull in helping us decide. And his suggestions were bang on target. The restaurant does get noisy later in the evening, but that just shows its popularity. I would love to go there on my next v isit to Mnpls again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ridz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Alway a good bet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I go to this restaurant at least once every time I am in Minneapolis. This time I took a friend who turned out to be very fussy about her food. She sent one dish back because she smelled garlic and berated the waiter for not letting her know that it would contain the ingredient. The waiter handled the complaint with the most professional demeanor and went out of his way to attempt to please my friend. The flatbread the we did eat was really wonderful and the desserts were outstanding. My only disappointment was the lack of risotto on the menu that evening. It is my must have. I would continue to recommend this outstanding restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank califdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zelo also viewed

 

Been to Zelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing