We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Greasy!”

Ted Cook's 19th Hole Bar-B-Que
Ranked #811 of 1,794 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good and Greasy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Im not normally a barbecue person but Ted's is really good barbeque, 2nd best in MN. It's in the middle of a neighborhood and you really wouldn't expect it to be where it is but...it's easy to get to and there is street parking. It's not a dine in restaurant, take it home and get messy there. The only reason I can not give it a perfect score is because my number 1 restaurant is John Hardy's in Rochester. If your up for a scenic drive, check it out!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FritoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best ribs in the Twin Cities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

The previous reviewers capture the essence of this place. The ribs are the best in the Twin Cities. Ted Cook's is a tiny carry-out only place in south Minneapolis, near the light rail (38th Street station). Don't let the old waiting area (and sometimes crabby service) put you off, it's all part of the experience--the food is unbelievably good. Ribs (beef & pork, but I like the pork best), BBQ chicken, BBQ beef, pulled pork, great cole slaw, collard greens, jojos, it's all great. I find the hotter sauces have too much vinegar for my taste, so get the sauce on the side until you know whether you like it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“HIDDEN RIB JOINT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Original owner deceased.Food quality has remained close to what Ted started. Down Home southern cooking. Ribs, fried chicken, cornbread, greens, blackeyed peas, peach cobbler The list goes on.
I do get there, but not as often as I would like.

Helpful?
1 Thank charlesbray5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Doing it right for over 40 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Small store front, neighborhood BBQ joint that smells great in all the good ways. Take out ribs with flavor that lingers for hours. Peach cobbler is a plus. I could eat a whole chicken, maybe. It's that good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KeyWestMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
211 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Oh my how I miss this place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I recently moved from Minneapolis and this is really the ONLY place I dearly miss. Ted Cook's knows how to make REAL smokepit BBQ. They are rude, a bit terse, crabby, and customer service is non-existent - but the food is TO DIE FOR.

Don't stray from what is good - get the chopped pork, medium sauce, jojo fries, and a piece of peach cobbler.

You will leave happy

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew_branham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Cook's 19th Hole Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Ted Cook's 19th Hole Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing