We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real italian”

Broders’ Pasta Bar
Ranked #35 of 1,816 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Since 1994 Broders' Pasta Bar has been serving house made and quality imported pastas and risottos, focusing both on Italian regional traditions as well as seasonal & local ingredients. We source from Midwest farms, when possible, and grow vegetables in our own parking lot garden (weather permitting, of course!) but really, it's about the pasta. Located across W. 50th Street from Broders’ Cucina Italiana, the original deli and specialty food shop, Molly and Tom Broder opened the Pasta Bar - to cook the pasta they were selling the way it was meant to be: fresh, al dente, perfectly sauced and thoughtfully executed. Still, and always, family owned and operated, Broders' continually strives to serve great Italian food and wine from our corner in Southwest Minneapolis. We hope to welcome you, whether at the Cucina, Pasta Bar, or the newest addition, Terzo, our contemporary Italian restaurant & wine bar. Saluti!
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Real italian”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great little pasta joint. No canned sauce here. Terrific service, nice wine selection and a simple delicious menu

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    70
    24
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best pasta dining in or take out in Minneapolis”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Broder's has won plenty of awards for being so good, but awards aside, it really is the best pasta I've had in the Twin Cities... over and over again. Having said that, this Italian hot spot is all about pasta. The menu includes antipasti, salads and deserts as well, but the main plates are all either more traditional pastas, fresh pastas made in house rissoto and some smaller pizzas. The menu has some seasonal change to it and is available for take out as well (though some pastas tend to do best when eaten right away). For additional Italian eats and dry shop goods, you have to visit Broder's Italian Cucina across the street. As the weather warms up, the outdoor winebar and grill opens up and has a different menu with more grilled selections and less pasta. You can't order from the grill menu when you are eating inside.
Inside, the space is cozy an centered around a central wine bar. Dinner seating occurs at the bar as well as the small tables surrounding it. There is limited waiting space so many people utilize the "call ahead" seating option...though there are no true reservations. The staff is superb, the wine is good and the quality of the chef and his creations are fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GStarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“My wife’s favorite restaurant in the Twin Cities”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I like their food, but they tend to use cream in many of their freshly prepared dishes than my palate prefers. Talk to your wait person and discuss the food you are going to eat. One of the waiters has been there every time I have dined here, so I asked him how long he has been there and he said 18.5 years. We had an appetizer with arugula and tomato jam which was incredible. I had a dish with pears, fresh pasta and beef tips and it was very good. We sat at the bar and were able to hear a 1st date which was kind of interesting. It is a very, very cozy environment, so if you have phobias about being close to others, this isn’t your place. Winter waiting tip: when entering, go left of the entrance as the cold wind tends to blow in towards the right side where the bathrooms are. The half bottle of wine was perfect for us and based on the pricing, it is a good way not to commit to any particular bottle of wine. We will be back and talked to a few people on our 45 minute wait and they were exploring restaurants as well. If you don’t want to wait, come in the summer as they have outdoor seating and then work off the dinner with a nice stroll around Lake Harriet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“delicious pasta, great neighborhood feel”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I went here with a friend for dinner - we sat at the pasta bar. It was awesome! Great atmosphere, cheery, warm, and friendly. Definitely was a very welcoming and comfortable atmosphere. The server was very knowledgeable and had great recommendations. Did not feel pressure to make decisions on ordering right away. She let us take our time ordering a few appetizers and then when we wanted, we placed our orders.We had the buffalo mozzarelle and a couple crostinis for antipasti. I had the #3 fettucini con cinghaie. It was amazing! Portions were good-sized, but not so huge that I felt stuffed afterwards, and not too little that I was still hungry. We also had the tiramisu for dessert. Mmmm soooo good!

I can't wait to come back and try all the different pastas!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leex1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade pasta and cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband grew up 4 blocks from here and he says it hasn't changed since his childhood - same family, same excellent service and unbelievably prepared dishes of homemade pastas and rich, savory sauces. Excellent wines, and the focaccia and tiramisu should be missed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hennalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broders’ Pasta Bar also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Broders’ Pasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing