We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Staff Never Leaves. What Does That Tell You?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broders’ Pasta Bar

Broders’ Pasta Bar
Ranked #25 of 1,785 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located across the street from our original deli, Broders' Cucina Italiana, Broders' Pasta Bar has taken the art of fresh pasta one step further. While the Cucina sells pasta to customers who want to cook at home, the pasta bar was designed to delight our customers with pasta cooked the way it is meant to be. Each of the 22 or so pasta and risotto on the menu are cooked to order and served steaming hot. Those seated at the bar get the best view of our pasta chefs cooking their dish, which is always 'al dente' and carefully tossed. This is not a pasta restaurant that ladles on white or red sauce nor is it a chain. Each dish gets an individual sauté of the highest quality fresh ingredients. Great care is taken in the daily production of our fine egg pasta which is also sold to cook at home in our deli across the street. Our menu changes seasonally and there are always daily specials. Many of our customers love to order our pasta for takeout. One caution though - the best takeout pastas are those with macaroni pasta we import from Italy (penne, spaghetti, rigatoni, etc) rather than our homemade egg noodles which should be eaten as close to cooking time as possible. Though the emphasis is on quality food, you will enjoy the charming atmosphere and neighborhood feel of the restaurant and, in summer months, the wine and antipasto bar on our patio. We look forward to welcoming you for dinner.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Staff Never Leaves. What Does That Tell You?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Broders is ah-mazing. It defines local, neighborhood restaurant. We no longer live in this neighborhood (boohoo), but we still destine ourselves in these woods to grab take out. The wait is long and the atmosphere is worth it--like the title says.. the staff never leave. Same faces for more than 10 years. Great place to work is a great place to eat. If the wait is too unbearable.. order take out. You'll be out of there in less than 10-15 minutes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stockgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    64
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“truly a special place - wish Broder's was in my neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was in Edina for work, but Broder's feels like home. Every neighborhood would be fortunate to have a place like this. Great mix of families, friends and business associates enjoying home-made pasta with a smile on every face.

I'm still thinking about the pappardelle with eggplant and goat cheese a month later.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SchmoOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Favorites Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We love this place - the food is always amazing. Me and BF try and make it here a couple times a year and it's one of the best places to go for a special evening. During the summer you can sit on the patio which is really cute and romantic. They don't take reservations but you can call ahead which I would advise since this place is almost always busy. Just be ready to get a nice glass of wine and wait it out - it'll be worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rachcmn100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Broders is one of my favorite restaurants in the Twin Cities. It is a tiny restaurant that has a truly Italian feel. The wait can be a bit long if you go during peak times. However, they have a patio that is used exclusively for happy hour or people waiting for a table for dinner. When it is nice outside, the patio is an awesome place to sit and have a drink while you are waiting for a table. The menu at Broders changes frequently and always has fantastic options. I have never been disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gdawh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Drive across town to eat at Broder's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband brought me to Broder's for my birthday and invited our grown daughters and their significant others. The six of us were seated fairly quickly. We called ahead. (Calling ahead does not reserve a table but gets you a priority onceyou have arrived at the restaurant.) The food was fantastic as usual and our service was perfect. You do get a free dessert on your birthday complete with a lit candle. I love italian food but my husband is not a big fan. He is a fan of Broder's though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suezinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broders’ Pasta Bar also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Broders’ Pasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing