We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A class act in every way”
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 8th Street
Description: Rich mahogany, sumptuous leather and cool marble set the stage for incomparable dining in the Hennepin Theatre District. Just blocks from the Target Center, you’ll finddry aged beef that’s always right on the mark. No wonder Zagat Survey wrote, “awesome steaks served by the pros are the order of the day.”
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A class act in every way”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Okay, this restaurant is a chain but my experience is that the service, ambiance, decor and food go way beyond what any ordinary chain will provide. Everything about this dining experience was top-notch--and we dined here during Restaurant Week yet there was absolutely nothing scrimped or "dumbed down" except a there was a lower price point! Everything we ordered was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The staff truly knows how to please without hovering. Go here for a special occasion and be prepared for an extraordinary experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    124
    29
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch at the Capital Grille”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

On our last day in Minneapolis, we were looking for somewhere to have a leisurely lunch before heading out to the airport. Staying in downtown, this restaurant is a good option.
They open for lunch and provide a special lunchtime menu which offers great value.
Staff were very friendly and the service was excellent.
I had the lobster/crab burger with truffle fries which was excellent, whilst others in our party had the lobster roll with salt and vinegar chips and a cup of clam chowder - again these were very good. The seared scallops with corn risotto was also very good.
We did not partake from the wine list but it looked fairly extensive - instead we all had cold beers. Again all these were very good.
So overall a nice lunch in pleasant surroundings with great service. The added bonus being that the prices charged for lunch are good value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scillyisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“It's Capital Grille. If you know what I mean...”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Best go to place after work!! I went there after work with my buddies and I had a great time - as usual. great bar (grille) food, drinks, etc... will definitely recommend young-senior professionals to try out this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillwater, mn
2 reviews
“I don't get the hype!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The reviews left me with high expectations, but the service was terrible and the food was short of spectacular.

Helpful?
Thank zinC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
186 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service, excellent ambiance ”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We hadn't stopped in here for a while given the number of newer places opening and closer to home, but we decided to come back after a 2 year hiatus. It was worth it. Service was very professional, responsive and friendly. Every dish was excellent--lobster pop overs, special Brussels sprout salad, lobster bisque, filet and hash browns. Our fabulous waiter read our mind and brought us a creme brûlée before we even asked (at no charge!). The waiter really knew his business about how to provide great service. We tried the summer wine pairing menu which was great.
We'll come back more often. Either the place has improved a lot or it just slipped our mind.

Helpful?
Thank Medblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing