We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exceptional Service and Quality Eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,784 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 8th Street
Description: Rich mahogany, sumptuous leather and cool marble set the stage for incomparable dining in the Hennepin Theatre District. Just blocks from the Target Center, you’ll finddry aged beef that’s always right on the mark. No wonder Zagat Survey wrote, “awesome steaks served by the pros are the order of the day.”
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Exceptional Service and Quality Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Incredibly personal service from the host/wait staff and their food is great, too! I shared that we were expecting and the waiter brought out a mocktail for me. The wait staff sure knows how to make their customers feel special!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MamaOberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    103
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place is terrific and the service is old school. They treat you like kings and queens here. Their staff if perfectly trained. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch here. The staff was wonderful and engaging. The food was delicious and top notch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coopieclanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A little spendy but worth every dime. Terrifc place for business lunches and for romantic dinners. Never disappointed and the service is beyond compare

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goatless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner at the "Grille"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They did a nice job of decorating the table for the birthday, and provided a "birthday desert free of charge. A pricey menu, steaks were very good, but au gratin potatoes left something to be desired.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not so special special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I have always loved the food at the Capital grill, but we are steak puritans. I love lots of types of food and enjoy cooking. I always like to hear the special but rarely get one as I am usually looking forward to the steak. This particular night the special sounded worthy and I was convinced to give it a try. I was quickly reminded that if specials are so "special" they should be a permanant fixture on the menu. I had pasta with a mushroom sauce and sliced mushrooms and tenderloin. I ordered the tenderloin medium rare. It was splayed across the top of the meal so they could control the cooking. It came looking and tasting like leather and the sauce was so salty it could not be eaten. We are generally not complainers but in this instance we felt it appropriate to point it out to the waiter so he could give feedback to the chef. If you have a special, it should be just that. He was very kind. As always the service and my husband's steak were impeccable. I said the values are good because the portions are high, but it is expensive. Normally it is worth it. The valet is free which is appreciated, but the additional downtown taxes do add up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meema21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing