We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic lunch with Valentine's treats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,781 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 8th Street
Description: Rich mahogany, sumptuous leather and cool marble set the stage for incomparable dining in the Hennepin Theatre District. Just blocks from the Target Center, you’ll finddry aged beef that’s always right on the mark. No wonder Zagat Survey wrote, “awesome steaks served by the pros are the order of the day.”
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch with Valentine's treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I went here for Valentine's day lunch. It was fantastic. I had the beef tenderloin filet with onions and mushrooms and loved it! My husband had the scallops that were big and delicious. We had the sides of butternut squash and green beans that were very tasty and a nice compliment to the meal. Berries with cream and an added chocolate ice cream to the top, couldn't be better. A rose and truffles for Valentine's day we're added as welling the house.

Great service and attentive and helpful wait staff.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    96
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Calamari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband wanted a steak for dinner. With several steakhouses in downtown Minneapolis, I picked this restaurant based on the online menu which included the "Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers" appetizer and of course a good selection of steaks. The food did not disappoint - served at a perfect temperature, cooked just as requested. The service was a bit disappointing - our waiter started out strong (checking in just often enough to let us know he was engaged) however, towards the end of the evening the service fell apart. This would have been a 5 star visit sans the service drop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul
Level Contributor
114 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fine Dining, on all Points”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went for dinner on Fri nite. Waitress, Lauren, was great. Bread basket is v good, she explained various menunitems. We each ordered a bone in sirloin, with kona finish ( a ground coffee mixture). This was very good atop our meat, and steaks were done to perfection. House wine was very adequate, altho an extensive wine list is availaable. We shared a lovely cocnut cream pie for dessert. Entire experience was great. Steaks were in mid 40$ range, but well worth it. Place has a warm intimate dining room, a very relaxing and pleasant atmosphere. Also, free valet service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kirbyfredstpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Can't go wrong here! They have steak, lobster and awesome sides. For anniversaries and bdays they make it very special. Definitely would go there for a fun celebration!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank opinionated123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
667 reviews
550 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Nice but like a lot of steak houses - formulaic and a bit boring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is what it is, a fancy steak house selling quality steaks but very high prices that most iners aren't actually paying because they are on expense accounts. That is the back drop so let's get to the food. The sppetizers of calamari with spicy peppers are good as is the oyster platter and crab cakes. They are good but not special. The lobster bisque has a lot of nice lobster claw pieces. Salads are fresh and well put together. The steaks are all good but again as you would expect and not ultra special. The lobster option to add to the steaks adds a goodly amount of very nice lobster pieces. The salmon on the cedar plank could have a better char on the outside. Service is good and our waiter at least didn't try to over sell items. It is a good restaurant for this sort of unimaginative cuisine. if that is exactly what you want and you are ok with the prices, this is as good as any in this genre.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kawidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing