We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Plates - Great Taste”
Review of Rincon 38

Rincon 38
Reserve with OpenTable
Rincon 38 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small Plates - Great Taste”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved this place... after a trip to the Art Institute, we drove for one of the best meals we've had in a long time.

The Canolli stuffed with lobster, crab, and ricotta was amazing... the presentation was beautiful! The Pulpo was spicy and delicious (you have to like octopus though). The Vasco was beautiful and perfectly cooked. The Mero was delicious and well-prepared. The Mejillones were amazing--the rosemary and lemon broth, combined with the fennel... DELICIOUS!

If you like Tapas, good wine, and getting getting a bit cosy with your neighbors (the place is small and you sit close to other customers) you can't go wrong!

We'd definitely go back on a future trip to the Minneapolis area... great food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
st paul
Level Contributor
147 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great spot for Tapas!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a charming little cafe on the corner of38 and Grand. Interesting menu is small plates, all priced about $10 or less. We had cannoli stuffed with lobster and crab, and it was v tasty. As was the langoustinos, (shrimp grilled in garlic butter.). These were tasty but time consuming to eat, somewhat, as you had to peel the shrimp. And the garlicky sauce served with them was v.good; if you order this item, be sure to order some bread to sop up the yummy garlic butter. The bread is ala carte at an extra charge. Overall, a good place to try some outside the box menu offerings. We two,ladies were medium to v. Hungry on arrival, and we ended up sharing 4 plates, about $37 worth, plus bread cost, and each had a $9 glass of wine. Overall, a fun place, with v attentive and fast service, a v efficient kitchen. Doesn't get 4 stars because the tables are v. Cramped tog. When a 4some took the table next to us, the staff politely asked us to butt up with the table on the other side of us to make room for the 4some. So, this resulted in us having 2 strangers join us for dinner! The other couple was agreeable, and we had a nice visit with them. However, be prepared for cramped qtrs here, not a spot for personal or private conversation. Overall, this is a spot I,d return to, for its novel menu and friendly staff, in nice residential area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirbyfredstpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
328 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Little gem found by accident .”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We started out on a Monday night by meeting at Crema-closed. We then headed over to 38th and Grand knowing The Grand Cafe and Victors were good options- closed. We looked across the street and saw Rincon 38 Bistro and it was open. And we are glad that it was. New place but small, need more tables as the food is wonderful. We were there about 5:45 and the place had several tables open however by the time that we left there was a waiting line of people. Not much area to wait so get there early.There is a very nice long bar that I am sure that you could have your tapas at with your wine or beer. We had a total of 5 tapas between 2 people and we called it dinner. Very tasty and reasonably priced. Tapas go for $5-9 while most entrees were were around $10. We had canoli- to die for, serrano- perfectly done, setas-nice combination of flavors , piquillos de atun- yummy. We also had the Albondigas which sounded great as described but I found them so-so. We had 1 glass of wine each and our total bill for dinner was $51. Our service was faultless and he helped us decipher the menu. I would return in a heart beat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Popeyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Best Tapas restaurant in the Twin Cities”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Rincón 38 is a solid tapas spot that deserves a spot among the best Spanish and Latin American restaurants in the Twin Cities. I visited on a Sunday before the rush, and I'm glad I did because the dining room is a little on the small side--that's not a complaint, just a logistical consideration.

The dining room is crowded and lively by design. The decor is a little all over the place, thematically, but that's not why you come to a place like this. Our server was bright, amiable and knew the menu--definitely left me impressed. We sampled around the menu based on her recommendations and what interested us. Here are my impressions:

The Plato Iberico was a Spanish charcuterie platter, featuring various cured hams and sausages as well as cheese and olives (they were out of the latter so gave us a little more of the meats). The Serrano was absolutely delightful and recalled the stuff I enjoyed in Madrid (I'm not going so far as to say it's on the level of jamón ibérico, but for Minneapolis this is great). The cheese as also a good pair.

The Coliflor was a lightly fried, poached cauliflower that had a definite taste of the saffron they prepared it with. Honestly, cauliflower isn't my favorite dish but I didn't find much to mind here. The Gambas al Ajillo consisted of langostinos (basically shrimp) that were in a Garlic-Pimenton sauce and needed some peeling. They were good and, thanks to the shell, had some of the delicious "mustard" inside the head. The Pinchos de Carne consisted seared, rosemary encrusted beef with asparagus, red peppers and some spice in an oily, sherry-based sauce. This was the weakest of the dishes and, while not bad, nothing I would revisit--the beef and the sauce were simply unmemorable.

Then came the two dishes that were among those recommended by our server: the Pulpo (octopus) was, by far, the highlight of the meal. The slow-braised octopus is soft, tender and not chewy rubber--it's fabulous. Equally impressive are what accompanies it: the potatoes, artichokes and Chorizo sausage are superb with the delicious sauces using sherry and a citrus aioli. This is a rare dish where all of the flavors come together to form a divine harmony of flavors. You must try it. Second, was the Mero: oven-roasted sea bass served over a rich, creamy cheese polenta with vegetables and a saffron sauce. Again, the flavors meshed together very well, though the edge definitely goes to the Pulpo.

The dessert menu isn't particularly deep, but I went with the pot de crème which was a nice rich, chocolatey end to the meal.

Overall Rincón 38 is the best tapas restaurant the Twin Cities has ever had, and is worth a visit and revisit--I look forward to returning again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobakLives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas, cozy atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This new restaurant brings a nice selection of tapas to South Minneapolis. We've visited twice, and the quality has been superb both times. We ordered the cauliflower both times, as it was so good we had to get it again. The octopus was very tasty as well. The restaurant is cozy, with room for 10-12 tables along with a comfortable wine bar. The wine list is well organized and fairly priced; the wait staff was able to provide suggestions that would go nicely with the selection of tapas we ordered. This will likely be a new Sunday favorite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DSHMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rincon 38 also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Rincon 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing