We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, Overpriced Airport Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Volante

Volante
Ranked #1,283 of 1,793 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious, Overpriced Airport Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I had a 6 hour layover in the Minneapolis/St. Paul airport so I thought I'd sit down and actually eat a hot meal. I travel often so I'm used to ordering food from an iPad. Many people around me weren't as familiar with the process, but the staff was friendly and helpful. They checked on me frequently and made me feel welcome. My flatbread was amazingly delicious. It was overpriced, but it's airport food. What do you expect?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    10
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced but yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Yummy food, efficient service. They had a decent wine and beer selection. The minestrone was spicy and yummy. I have the autumn salad with shrimp which was filling. The prices are a bit steep but that's expected in an airport.

Ordering is a bit novel. You order from an iPad at your table. You do also pay for everything up front, including gratuity, which is odd. But the waitstaff was attentive and helpful. Overall, a decent sit down airport meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kalley642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“same as GRDorkings”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Wanted a nice cocktail before flight and was attracted by all the pretty lights of ipads and open clean look of the place. Sterile and impersonal, it took me about 4 minutes to wade through the endless drink menu options to create a manhattan and i never was able to find the right page. The bartender standing right in front of me the whole time watching, it felt ridiculous. Overcharged and grumpy already from the ipad, i tipped 0%.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlyTooMuch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Delicious Efficient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Delicious food. Service not personal, but efficient, which is priority at an airport. The mushroom pasta (I think they make noodles in-house) was great, as was the prosciutto with dipping honey.

A little overpriced, but about what you'd expect to pay in an airport (especially if you're on an expense account), and certainly better than normal airport fare.

Decor was clean and retro modern, like what "futuristic" would be from another decade (maybe the 70s). It seemed to add some character, but it wasn't a standout feature.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overpriced and sterile”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stopped here as the place looks great and the ipads on your table are impressive, then you realize everything goes through the iPad and it is $8 for a beer and $12 for an appetizer. Then you have to pay up front along with gratuity for service you haven't even had yet. Not one person has even spoken to me yet, and they want a tip.

The $13 burger doesn't have fries. A diet coke is $4 and the numerous staff are stood around not doing much in the way of refills or providing service, because you have already paid them!!!!!!

Don't bother. Stick with Chillis because at least you know what you are going to get and they don't need to over inflate their prices to pay for the iPads.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GRDorkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volante also viewed

 

Been to Volante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing