We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place for Donuts”
Review of Glam Doll Donuts

Glam Doll Donuts
Ranked #2 of 63 Dessert in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place for Donuts”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're visiting the cities and have a craving for sweets, this is the place to be!
An excellent assortment of donuts and a fun place to visit. Good coffee too!
Also, they have Coke in bottles and stay open till 1am on Thursday-Saturday.

Store Hours:
Monday – Wednesday 7am–9pm
Thursday – Saturday 7am–1am
Sunday 7am–3pm

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mausey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    37
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had an OK experience here. We had a raspberry doughnut and a salted caramel doughnut. I thought that the raspberry was really good, but we were not overly impressed with the salted caramel doughnut. If you pay by credit card you have to use their iPad terminal, which we didn't mind, but then you had to e-mail yourself a receipt which we found annoying. I don't know why they can't buy a printer to print your receipt. This really has to slow down the line when people have to type in their e-mail address. I would return, but I would not be rushing here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlbug99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

First let me say, I love donuts, I mean really love donuts so I may be a tougher critic then most. I saw this place on a Friday night after eating at a local restaurant. First impression was "wow" what a great space! It looks like the perfect place to bring the kids or come with friends and just hang out, very welcoming and big enough that you wouldn't feel cramped anywhere. Another A+ is the staff, friendly patient and knowledgeable about their products. For me a great staff can really make a place, especially a new one. Donuts were good but not great. Great selection even at night and great flavor combinations but the actual main donut part part was blah.... in all fairness it was nighttime. All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend trying it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingfamily1767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
236 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

For a place that opened recently they are a great success. I was impressed that at 8pm on a Saturday night they had almost every donut they offer available. There were about 20 people ahead of us in line but they have enough patient employees to answer questions and we were at the counter in about 10 minutes. The two owners were working the cash register.

We ordered a dozen donuts $25 (half a dozen is $13.50) and they were put into too large of a box. It easily could have held two dozen. And yes they had paper on the donuts to protect them that we had to peel off.

FEMME FATALE * fresh raspberry curd & vanilla icing (filled) B+
DARK ANGEL * vanilla bean cream & chocolate icing (filled) A
MISFIT * orange, ginger & cinnamon infused glaze (raised) B+
GLAM DOLL * signature donut (raised) B
DARLING * chocolate or vanilla icing & sprinkles (cake) B+
SCREAM QUEEN * chocolate & caramelized bacon (cake) A
PINUP GIRL * apple bourbon (available with or without bacon) (fritter)
B+

My complaint is that they could have more filling in the Dark Angel. That vanilla bean cream is awesome but there was only a small amount. And the fritter needs more apple. In all fairness I say that about all fritters, but it really does.

The staff is helpful and friendly and the owners too. I wish them a prosperous business because we will be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty fantastic”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stopped in after some friends raved about the place. What looks like a small place is actually more expansive on the inside than what it looks. Pretty cool decor, bright and colorful with good music playing. We ordered 4 different donuts including a maple bacon, raspberry filled, St. Patrick's day special, and the salted caramel chocolate. All were really good! Grabbed some coffee too that was good. Overall, a cool place to grab a donut and relax for a bit. Not as eclectic and crazy as something like VooDoo donuts in Portland but cool nonetheless. We will be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glam Doll Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Glam Doll Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing