We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, But...”
Review of Darbar India Grill

Darbar India Grill
Ranked #304 of 1,800 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, But...”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This restaurant offers authentic Indian food, but, in terms of value, it is a trifle on the high side, with no lunch buffets, especially over the weekend. The lunch entrees could easily have been a bit more generous, too. There was just one waiter and, though he did the best he could for the handful of guests, there were relatively prolonged delays. The parking is a major concern---the restaurant provides none, whereas the competition just down the block provides not only that but, reportedly, good lunch buffets also.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely find….”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was a nice find for us, a couple looking for some good Indian grub. The appetizers and entrees were delicious, but we were a little disappointed when it came to the desserts. One of us ordered kheer and the other odered kulfi (typically with pistachios and flavoured with same, etc). But what we ended up with, was something like a vanilla/caramel tasting ice-cream. We've been to several Indian restaurants all over the world and in India itself, and these desserts did not pan out unfortunately. Not sure what the other 2 options would have tasted like.

But definitely go there for the other menu options, cool decor and drinks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buggaboo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Tasty indian food, great ambiance”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited Darbar Grill in August.
The food was delicious and definitely commands the price.
The decor is very good and the service was excellent.
I am sure to return again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hemant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
463 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice Indian Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here with friends at their suggestion. We all like Indian food and look for new places to try. We found the Darbar to be very good. The service was pleasant and efficient. The food, which we like on the medium to hot side was very good. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Travel-4funNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
216 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very uneven . . . Did not satisfy expectations”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Darbar specifically for its lamb biryani, which alas was pretty awful . . . Tiny tasteless snippets of lamb with tired out rice, no great fragrant anything. Appetizer of portobello mushrooms was good, not a standard Indian menu item. Our experience mirrored other reviewers comments about this kitchen lacking genuine Indian flavor. For good Indian food it's worth a short trip north to Bombay Bistro or Gurkha Palace.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank torla42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darbar India Grill also viewed

 

Been to Darbar India Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing