We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the footsteps of "Hiawatha"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minnehaha Park

Minnehaha Park
Ranked #4 of 196 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the city's oldest and most popular parks.
Appleton, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“In the footsteps of "Hiawatha"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Minnehaha Park is known for the falls that give this south Minneapolis park its name. The creek flowing out of the basin of the falls continues east towards it's confluence with the mighty Mississippi just below the Ford Dam. The path along this 1.5 mile journey leads hikers through the mini canyon created by the creek, under a canopy of northern hardwoods, alongside a variety of wetland wildflowers, eventually to the steep banks of Old Man River himself. The path can be muddy at times with a few toe-catchers along the way, especially if you take the woodsy backside instead of the main thoroughfare (I don't even know if the lesser path through the brush is even still there?). It's a pleasant walk between the creek and the yellow-tan sandstone walls that rise up to offer a glimpse of blue sky beyond the lattice-work branches overhead. Once you reach the river, you'll see folks picnicking, tossing rocks into the current or just enjoying the cooling shade on a hot Minneapolis afternoon. The descent down the long, long flight of stairs from the parking lot up at the level with the lip of the falls awaits your climb back up at the end of this 3-mile loop, but the journey will be well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wavetamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    335
    55
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Scenic falls and an easy hike to the Mississippi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The falls are pretty, regardless of season; in fact they're quite a site when frozen in winter. The park is spacious and occasionally has live entertainment, and the hike along Minnehaha creek to the Mississippi river is an easy one. A great way to get out and enjoy nature, and a special treat for out of town visitors.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waterfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went when the water was higher than normal and it was great! We actually had our anniversary the same day, so we knocked two birds out with one stone. It was great and I can't understand why we didn't go sooner since it's so close. GOOD TIMES!!!

Helpful?
Thank CRossMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely little suburban park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent a Sunday afternoon strolling through Minnehaha Park, and were very impressed by all the improvements the city had made to the landscape, such as the park buildings, trails and railings, flower gardens, and gazebo and arbor areas.

Our one disappointment is that the waterfall are no longer there; our friend from the city told us that the stream has been dry because of the drought this past summer, and may have been diverted upstream for farm use. We hope it's not a permanent state of affairs; the photo of the waterfall in its heyday is lovely, and would be a welcome site for family gatherings in the summertime.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Galeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This area is active with kayaking and walking and just picnicking too. It is usually running fairly strong but with the drought this year it is not as full. It is stilla very nice place to visit

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnehaha Park also viewed

 

Been to Minnehaha Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing