We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think this should be a must for visitors to Minneapolis”

Grand Rounds Scenic Byway
Ranked #22 of 206 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 40+ miles of bike trails throughout the city
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I think this should be a must for visitors to Minneapolis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Since I live pretty much right on this, this takes you throughout the beautiful lakes, creek and river and gives you a real flavor for our fair city. With the exception of one lake within the city, houses are not allowed to be right on the lakes, but are separated by parkways and beaches so that all might enjoy. Taking this Byway gives you the best view of all of it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank islandmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    26
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
357 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“The Minneapolis Park System is Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We can almost put our vehicle on auto pilot since we take this drive so often in the spring, summer and fall. The city does a great job maintaining the park system and the drive around the many lakes is gorgeous. You can stop at any of the lakes along the route and spend more time if you like. Weekends are usually pretty crowded so the drive is slow but it's still worth the trip. There is plenty of signage to lead you around the entire area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Glimpse of Minneapolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Gives a great glimpse of many parts of Minneapolis. If you don't have time to do it all, I would recommend at least the drive by the Chain of Lakes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IrisMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best by Bike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a great trail system that shows off some of the Twin Cities' great parks as well as the Chain of Lakes and the Mississippi River!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lyaldus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth the time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We drove from one area to another because of the composition of our group and the amount of time we had to dedicate to it. All of the parks and lakes were beautiful - the only huge disappointment was Minnehaha Falls - looked like a pit. We were there in September after what I suspect was an extremely dry and hot summer - hence no water. We spent quite a bit of time at the Locks and Dam on the Miss River. So much to see. Some of our stops did not include concessions or food service (out of season, I guess) and the areas that had food offered seemed to be nice and attracted lots of people, even mid-week in September.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mpearl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Rounds Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Grand Rounds Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing