We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spent much of my youth at the Rose Gardens”

Lake Harriet Rose Garden
Ranked #35 of 208 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spent much of my youth at the Rose Gardens”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I shared my youth with the Lake Harriet Rose Gardens. I grew up close by. I dunked in the fountains,searched for coins, rolled down the "big" hill and sometimes had a kite in the air. I met boys there for frisbee as a youthful girl and later strolled with my first born, beautiful and new, like the emerging rose buds.
Now, nearly 50 years later, I wander through the Rose and Peace Gardens with as much anticipation and wonder as I did when I was young. Some of the best things of our city are still around, mostly as they were, yet more beautiful than ever.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bonny132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crystal, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A yearly must go trip”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

this garden is always so beautiful, its a definate yearly come back to see all the wonderful flowers and landscaping

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pausing at the Rose Garden”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It is beautiful! Like a surprise jewel as you travel around Lake Harriet. Has a nice fountain which provides a backdrop for photographers for weddings, etc.

Helpful?
Thank KPichelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A Rosy Treasure”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Of course the roses are a treat. I also enjoy seeing how the roses are cared for in the course of the year. When do the gardeners mulch? When do they trim the plants or replace them? This is a good place to figure out which roses are "Minnesota hardy" for your own garden. And if the gardeners are around you might get some expert free advice. The toilets are across the street by a parking lot. Across the street is a Japanese garden which is also peaceful and lovely.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank puffinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
342 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Come in the Spring”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

You will probably never see so many different roses in one place. There are a lot of bumble bees flying around so be careful. The fountain in the middle is a great place for a bath if you are a homeless person or just stinky.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Harriet Rose Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lake Harriet Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing