We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second Oldest Rose Garden in the USA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Harriet Rose Garden

Lake Harriet Rose Garden
Ranked #29 of 197 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Second Oldest Rose Garden in the USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beautiful, peaceful, free. Right across from Lake Harriet. A lovely place to stroll through. The Peace Garden is right across the street from the Rose Garden so you can visit both. Open from 6 AM to 10 PM. Best roses are from July on.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank IrisMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for family photos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beautiful garden. It is a great place to have famiy photos taken. It also is a great place to walk around and enjoy the garden.

Helpful?
Thank Amy2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Weekday peace and beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Always free, an oasis from the hustle and bustle at the lake just down the street, especially during weekdays.
My kids love it. My elderly parents loved it. When flowers are blooming, a mystical place - and some great scents. Visit often and enjoy the season changes, flowers or not.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mpls/stpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed walking around the rose garden after our supper.
We also like the exotic plants and herbs and spices at the end of the garden.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brad336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a small rose garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I guess that when you move from a country where has extrodinary flowers compare to that, this rose garden is just an ok place. But it is nice to go for a walk tho, especially on a saturday morning, across the garden there is the peace garden where you can see a lot of yoga practitioners have morning yoga in the garden! it is lovely!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank YWMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Harriet Rose Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lake Harriet Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing