We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too modern for me, but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Too modern for me, but great location”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff were warm and polite and very responsive to requests. The location was great - lots of bars, restaurants, and the stadiums (baseball, football) are only blocks away. Convenient to public transportation as well. The rooms are very spacious and include both a sitting area (table, chaise, and chair) and a separate work area (desk and chair). The beds were very comfortable with different sized pillows to choose from and an extra blanket in the closet that was also very nice. There was an extra TV and a telephone in the bathroom, which was unexpected, but oddly I liked this and ended up using the TV at least. As a business traveler, I very much appreciated that the internet access was free in both the room and in the business center. The conference spaces were well appointed, though a group in an adjoining space was clearly audible during loud points (think laughter and clapping).

My complaints are pretty minor, but I'll share them anyway. The biggest complaint is the elevator system - it is unnecessarily complicated and bifurcates the hotel so that there is no way to travel directly from your hotel room to the lobby/street - you have to get off on the floor that houses the hotel bar (Floor #4) no matter what you do. This was really annoying, especially when I forgot something in my room and had to wait for 4 separate elevators to backtrack. This hotel was very much characterized by sleek urban design that is not my personal taste, but certainly very nice looking, but I want a nice traditional shower curtain, not an immovable glass wall that leaves half the shower area open. The image of a woman's hip and arm on my room key card was also a little much for me. There are also lots of stylish tiny lights all over the hotel room and no single big light to actually illuminate the place. A very modern looking wardrobe provides very little shelf space, but lots of hanging space (there is also a closet with additional hanging space). This was fine, since I brought mostly suits, but not so practical for the casual traveler.

Overall, a perfectly nice hotel. Very upscale and appropriate for business travel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khp_infairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    396
    150
    60
    40
See reviews for
233
648
70
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

If you are looking for a great hotel in downtown Minneapolis... this hotel is not your answer. Our first night we stayed at the W and had a fabulous room, view, and service for less $ than the Graves 601. Our next night we had to move over to the Graves as the W was fully booked. The lobby and lounges gave us high hope for the room aesthetic. Not only did we not get the room we paid for but it was not exactly clean. There were stains on the carpet, extensive mildew in the shower, garbage in the bathroom, etc. We did speak to the front desk and could not get our room switched (fully booked). They did credit us $50 for our trouble (still more expensive than the W). We were on the 17th floor so you would not think noise was not a problem.... no thermal breaks on the aluminum window frames - so the drums playing outside could be heard in our room all night. I think I finally fell asleep in our small double bed by 3 am. Oddly enough there were no top sheets on the bed...
There are simply better options in the area for less money...

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank donna10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed at the Graves 601 for two nights on business travel in the Minneapolis area in July 2010. The hotel is extremely sleek and modern in design. The lobby entrance feels like a hipster spaceship, but regardless - the rooms are comfortable, clean and feel brand new.

I stayed in room 1010 and the room was very spacious and comfy. I really liked the desk set-up, and the bed was wonderful. Also liked the spacious and modern bathroom. They give you more than enough towels and the toiletries were of high quality. I also appreciated a stocked ice bucket upon check-in.

My only complaint with the room was my relatively poor view of the building across the street. Also, there is a nice-looking chair and ottoman, but one morning I badly stubbed my toe on the legs of the ottoman, which are more or less shaped to stub toes!

Otherwise, the hotel staff was courteous, there is a Starbucks right downstairs, and my stay was great!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Loved the hotel, the location, the gym is perfect and clean, the business center had free Internet connection. The bed and linens made it hard to get out of bed in the morning. The lobby is connected to Starbuck and an Irish bar so no problem there rising or drinking and driving. It is also right next to the Hard rock hotel (be sure not to get a room facing the two loud bars on the side of the hotel - (unless you like music till 3:00 a.m.) Some minor complaints - Room 1110 the water in the sink took forever to drain, they should change the waste baskets in the bathroom (they are the kind you need to step on to open) the TV lost it's brilliance if it was on for too long and housekeeping could have been a little more attentive (put away iron, don't leave dirty glasses out). Other than those minor complaints the staff was exceptional, friendly and attentive!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We travelled to Minneapolis to see the Twins/Sox game and wanted a hotel near the ballpark. The Graves seemed to fit out itinerary. We loved the hotel, the one block walk to the ballpark and the location. The hotel also is only one block to the train which will take you right into the airport terminal and to the Mall of America if you are interested.

The hotel is really modern and very eclectric. The rooms are very nice and upscale amenities. Broadstreets bar is excellent and very trendy. Great cocktails and they have been written up in magazines as one of the ten best cocktail bars in the country. Make sure you stop by for a cocktail and check out the lounge in the back also.

The ballpark is great. Make sure to walk down 6th street to see the statues and take some pictures. Before the game make sure to stop at Kierans Irish pub. It will be crowded before gametime but the food is really good. We spent a lot of time there just watching and meeting people. Matt, the manager is really friendly and accomodating for anything you would want. also stop at their sister bar, The Local. Beautiful place - everything is imported from Ireland. Overall it was a good time and we hope to go back again to see another ballgame.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blarneymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This was a great experience for my family. Such high quality of service and the rooms were so beautiful. Very clean, neat and bright (even though the lobby area was very (too) dark). Loved the turn down service. The bathrooms were so pretty. Beautifully designed. Flatscreen TV in the bathroom. Very helpful concierge. Close to everything. Great beds. I have nothing bad to say about the experience. Five Stars all the way. I just wish my hotel in St. Louis was as nice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahRamatAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We booked an executive suite on the 14th floor, which overlooks the landscaped roof of the Target Center across the street and the river in the distance, but it is blissfully quiet. It has a low key entrance, not the palm studded marble acre-sized lobby with all the conventional luxuries. Instead it is endlessly imaginative and artful. It is a visually unique hotel, each new space outdoing the former, almost as if designed by a museum curator. One memory is of the elevator lobby on each floor, with a sensuous couch covered in rust velvet opposed to a rectalinear a wall of windows opening onto skyscrapers of glass and mirror, all reflecting onto different surfaces.

Our room was an "executive suite" because it had a couch and coffee table and chair, all upholstered in leather. The surfaces in the room were glass and wood and subtley changing shades of sage green, handpainted in panels. The bathroom was so elegant, with a raised glass basin, multispray shower double walk-in marble shower, a built-in television and a high-tech pair of scales, also glass and floating and also reflected in mirrors below the sink--I never figured out to operate that. In the main room there was space for a laptop, though they charged for the online conncection, a well stocked refrigerator attached to a closet--and a second closet for extra pillows, robes, an ironing board and iron and a shopping bag that reflects the playful decor of this wonderful hotel.

We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast and had a drink at the knock-out hip Cosmos bar, and the food was very good. However, you need to pay attention to the extras on the menu--we racked up a breakfast bill of $59 one morning!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann2009CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,252 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Address: 601 1st Ave N, Minneapolis, MN 55403-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing