We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ for Graves 601”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Dakota
1 review
“A+ for Graves 601”
Reviewed April 6, 2009

A friend and I stayed at the Graves 601 for a long weekend. We enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. We attended a Timberwolves game as well as taking in the night life...so the location was excellent. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The beds were comfortable and the shower was great. The service that we recevied was also top notch! The staff helped two out-of-towners find the hotel....and parking...and some great martini's in Cosmos :) Overall and A+! I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay downtown.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Travel25NorthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    403
    151
    61
    41
See reviews for
239
674
73
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed at the Graves 601 for a long weekend with friends in the Twin Cities. The hotel itself was fantastic. Loved the modern rooms and clean design, and enjoyed a room on a higher floor with nice views of the city. The location is perfect for walking anywhere in downtown Minneapolis. Any negative impressions of this hotel were created by the front-desk staff: standoffish at best, downright rude at worst. Bell/valet staff was far more personable, but on our last day the valet returned our vehicle with a piece hanging off. It was easily snapped back into place with no harm done, but together with the poor customer service from the front desk cemented for us the notion that guest services are not this hotel's strong point.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSM305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

I stayed at the Graves with my mom and 19 year old sister. The hotel is beautiful, can't complain about that. The location is excellent, directly across the street from the Target Center, First Avenue club and soon-to-be new Twins baseball field.

The rooms are very modern with the token overpriced minibars. $4 for 10 Pringles? No thanks. There was not a vending machine or ice machine on my floor, not sure if there were on any other floors. The beds are very comfortable, as are the pillows. The TV and phone in the bathroom were a little over the top for these country girls but hey - when in the city, do as the city folk do, right?

Parking can get pretty hairy, at least on a Saturday night. The parking garage attached to the hotel was completely full when we got back at about 8 or 9pm. I contribute that to all of the people waiting outside First Avenue. We ended up parking in a ramp a couple blocks away and hoofing it back to the hotel - not a big deal. In retrospect, we should have taken a cab. Live and learn.

There is a sort of plaza in the same building as the hotel with several restaurants and a movie theatre. They had Applebee's, Hooters, Mrs. Field's and The Shout House (a piano bar) among other things.

I tried to connect to the wireless network and they charge $13/day for it. No thanks.

Overall, it was a great stay and the price wasn't bad at all for a walk-in on a Saturday night. We paid $149 for the one night.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlayaTurquesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blaine, mn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

The entire place was very neat and fun to be at. The service was excellent! I took my wife here for a surprise evening for her birthday. She was impressed with everything. The bed was the most comfortable bed we had ever slept on in any hotel. Will stay here again, hopefully soon!

  • Liked — The dacor, modern feel.
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yede1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

I stayed here over Ney Years 08-09. The Hotel is a new, modern funky hotel right downtown. There are pleanty of places to eat within walking distance but the hotel restaraunt is incredible as well.

The room itself is a good size, with partial hardwood floors, a HUGE flatscreen television and a comfortable bed. A compmarable hotel would be the "W" brand, but the Graves is more luxurious and doesn't try as hard as a "W"

Only problem I had was the bartender (dont know which one) needed to lighten up. I was shocked about how rude he was to us... Its like he didnt want to be there. Oh well.

I definatly would return and give the Graves my buisness again.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank Mugsydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

The Graves is SEXY! The rooms are amazing, super clean, super trendy, super sexy. The bar @ The Graves is very sexy. GREAT location right in the heart of downtown Minneapolis.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank babibirdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Awesome location, you are near EVERYTHING, shops, restaurants, bars, and the train. You can take the train right to the airport and we felt very safe. The train which is about a block away also heads to the Mall of America (one word for that =yuck), however the hotel was very trendy, clean and affordable. The bar Cosmos served some of the best drinks we had ever had and we travel all around the world! Would def stay there again.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank TrixieAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Address: 601 1st Ave N, Minneapolis, MN 55403-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing