We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday and after reading the reviews I thought it would be an exciting place to be, but it was very quiet. Although the hotel was nice, the room seemed very stark in it's design. There was no carpeting in the room which made me wish I had my slippers. Another problem was that there was no ice machine. If you needed ice, you needed to call for room service. Because we were on a tight budget, we went without until we had a knock at the door. Staff apparently come around once a night offering ice. That was a pleasent surprise. I was happy to hear that they had a CD player. As far as I am concerned this should be a staple in hotel rooms. The problem was that you had to get down on the cold floor to operate the player. This was also true for the coffee maker. ..which by the way comes with one cup of complimentary expresso. If you want more you need to buy it from the stocked fridge. The beds were very comfy and the shower was fun. It sprays you from the top and the side, getting you nice and clean. Although this was a decent hotel, the next time I am in town, I will look around and stay somewhere else. I suspect that if you stay on the week end or when there is an event at the Target center, the vibe will be much more upbeat. The bar was nice but at $15 a drink...it better be.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Sunandjo,

We appreciate your providing us feedback about your experience, though we are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your visit a little more. It sounds to us like you appreciated a number of our amenities, from the CD player & espresso in your rooms to the nightly door-to-door ice service, but were wanting a little more action in the evenings. We fully understand that desire -- which is why we always direct our visitors looking for a great cocktail to Bradstreet Craftshouse or Cosmos or to the many events that are usually happening in downtown Minneapolis. Next time you come to the city, there will hopefully be more going on—and there's no better place to be a part of the action than right here!

Patrick, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,353 - 1,359 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank KASEY S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank fterranella
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
BISMARCK
11
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife ordered your salmon bagel and was pretty disappointed by it. Perhaps the description is a bit misleading as to what to expect. On the other hand, she left her earring in the hotel room. We called a few hours after leaving and asked after it. Our call was returned some time later. We had no expectation of seeing the earring again. However, your staff and gone up to the room and located it! I gave her these earrings when she gave me my first son so they have great value to her. Thank you for your diligence and honesty.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

It was our pleasure to return your wife's earring! We're thrilled that your precious gift is back in good hands. However, we're sorry that your wife was disappointed with our salmon bagel. I will definitely relay your feedback to our food & beverage team. Thank you for your candor, and for taking the time to sing our praises. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,
Patrick, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I really love this hotel. It's modern and kept up very nicely. I had great food there as I ordered breakfast each day and one time the hot cookies/milk at night. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. The TV is large and I love sitting in the little sitting area or at the desk. The bathroom even has a TV and a very high tech shower that I was not quite sure how to use. I have stayed here several times for work and I hope it is where we stay in a couple of weeks. I also love that Starbucks is attached to the side of the hotel in case it's cold and you need caffeine. Overall, wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

It's always nice to be close to a caffeine source! Between that, our beautiful rooms and luxurious showers, we're thrilled that you've made us your Minneapolis headquarters. Thank you! We can't wait to welcome you back.

Cheers,
Patrick, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. We got a good deal on the room through Hotwire. When we were checking in we mentioned our anniversary and they gave us a free upgrade to a king-sized bed room on the 20th floor- the view was spectacular. Graves 601 is within walking distance of many restaurants and bars and is connected to the skyway system- which was fantastic for the 1.5 block walk we had to our dinner reservation. We were very pleased with our room and the cleanliness of it. We enjoyed our stay and will probably be back again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauree1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thanks for joining us for your anniversary celebration! It was our pleasure to help you make the most of this special occasion. We hope you'll keep us in mind for your 8th! Congratulations. :)

Best,
Patrick, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,297 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave N, Minneapolis, MN 55403-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $132 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing