We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my idea of a top hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not my idea of a top hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and felt it was overpriced and unimpressive. It was definitely updated and modern but the room lacked enough lighting and the lobby was dark. The designer's idea of art in the room was unattractive and the who really needs a TV in the bathroom? There was no coffee maker in the room and they told us is would cost $11 per day for a frig. Thank goodness there was a Starbucks just across from the lobby. Service was average and having to pay $19 per day for parking was painful, let alone $26 for valet daily. Minneapolis is a nice city but this place was not somewhere I would stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor and had a shower with multiple heads, if that is your thing. Our friends o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pambawamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Minneapolis. We chose our streamlined aesthetic to reflect the character of our metropolitan city. You left some great feedback, and we will certainly keep it in mind as we continue to improve for our guests. Thank you for your candor. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to impress you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    393
    150
    59
    40
See reviews for
223
643
68
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

You will definitely not find a hotel like this anywhere else in Minneapolis and Minneapolis needs a hip modern hotel like this...I normally do not stay here and stay at a more business like hotel when I visit Minneapolis, but I did stay here when it first opened and then again in Sept 2012. The amenities changed which I was disappointed in. They used to have Hermes soap, etc and now it is some other brand which is just not as good, but then again few things are. I love the bathrooms because they are spacious and functional. I also like the hardwood floors in the bedroom, makes it feel cleaner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddy_Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again! It is so rewarding to bring a sleek, modern aesthetic to Minneapolis. We're happy to hear that you were so impressed! However, I'm sorry that you were a bit disappointed with our amenities. We feel that our new items meet our high standards of quality, but we'll be sure to take your comments into consideration. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great stay at the Graves 601. Got a good price on hotwire, and found hotel staff to be very supportive and helpful. They upgraded us based on availability and what they thought would better meet our needs. We ended up with a lovely room on the 19th floor with a great view of the baseball stadium. Room was great, very modern, very comfortable, incredibly clean. Wonderful shower in spacious bathroom, comfy bed, nice biig screen TV Public spaces were spacious and could accomodate big crowds. We'll definitely be back

Room Tip: I liked the bed, but my husband found it too soft. It was very plush, and that wouldn't be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knitterforallseasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
It was our pleasure to upgrade your room! We like to think that our sleek decor is reflective of our cosmopolitan city. I'm glad you enjoyed it as well! Thank you for the fantastic review — everyone will be happy to hear your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I should have taken pictures to adequately show this place, but it is excellent. Staff is the best, very friendly and always ready to help. Shout out to Hope in the Cosmos breakfast, very nice young lady.
Property is across the street from Target center, walking (5 mins) to Twins ballpark. Kieran's Irish Pub next door is great for beer etc.. Lots of variety close by for dining. Would recommend Brazilian restaurant if you need a protein fix (Food de Chao- about a block from Hotel) $50 per person.
Beds are so comfortable! Rooms are upscale European, clean and simple. Quilts, flat screen, etc. Rooms are super quiet, didn't hear a thing from halls, outside, next room-nothing!
I am trying to think of a reason to go back again just so I can stay at this hotel again. Can't recommend it high enough.
Only negative would be slow service for breakfast in Cosmos, if you need to be out at a certain time just let them know.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frzntundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
With all the hotels here in Minneapolis, we're honored to be one of our favorites! You really can't beat our beds — they're all your need for a good night's sleep. Thank you for the wonderful review, and for recommending us to your family and friends. We hope you can come up with a reason to return to MPLS soon. We'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for our weddding weekend. We were able to negotiate a pretty good rate. No upgrades were given to us on our wedding night which was a little disappointing - not even a bottle of champagne or water for that matter. After brining in so much revenue for them we thought we'd be a given a little something. Our bags were supposed to be transferred directly to our wedding night hotel room but they were not there when we arrived so we had to wait 15 minutes in the middle of the night for them to bring us our bags.

Other than that..everything was good - beds were comfortable - hotel is very stylish. Bathroom is large. I would recommend if you can get it for a good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc345345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend this special day with us. It is our pleasure to attend to your every need during this happy time. I am sorry to hear that we fell short — we should have better anticipated your needs with the luggage. Still, we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us. We would love to welcome you back again next year! Until then, thank you for the excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

A pleasant hotel on a busy street in down town Minneapolis with a Starbucks and an Irish bar next door. Concierges were always on hand to open doors and help with luggage. Check in was quick with the obligatory credit card stored for extras. My room was on the sixth floor, this entailed taking the elevator to the fourth floor then going round the corner and taking the guest elevators to the sixth. The corridor walls and floors were all finished in dark, polished parquet wood with low lighting. This gave a rather dark and oppressive feel at first but you soon got used to it. By contrast the rooms were light and airy. Nothing unusual but clean, comfortable and contemporary. The large double bed had good quality white linen, additional seating in the form of a chaise and armchair, wardrobe with mini bar, dressing table and large flat screen, wall mounted TV and a variety of lighting options. The room had air con but I found this a bit disturbing when it started up in the night and woke me , so I turned it off, There was also a background hum, which kept me awake, combined with jet lag it doesn't take much! A closet had an iron and board, hair dryer, bath robes, electronic safe and extra hanging space. The bathroom was large with toiletries replenished daily, plenty of towels, and large walk-in shower. A small TV faced the toilet, but as there was no bath this seemed a bit unnecessary. The bed was turned down in the evening, curtains drawn, standard lamp lit and mini bar table with fresh ice opened out into the room. The bathroom looked like it had been tidied as well with dirty towels removed and the basin cleaned. It was a nice touch and made the room feel welcoming when you returned. I did not use the bar or restaurant so cannot comment on these. The purpose of my visit was business but I would stay here as a holiday guest if I visited the city for a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Stephanie,

Our sleek aesthetic really does reflect the electric vibe of our great city. Thanks for staying with us! We hope to welcome you back during your next visit.

Regards,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We chose the Graves in order to have a relaxing yet classy experience, and we weren't disappointed. First and foremost, the room was QUIET -- we didn't even hear the people next to us (granted, we had one of the lovely corner rooms on an upper floor). The bed was extremely comfortable, and the five-head shower was great (although I would have appreciated a laminated card telling me how to work the three controls!). Thanks to a prior reviewer who alerted us to the ice delivered with room turn-down, and the complimentary coffee maker available if you ask (we're not Starbucks fans). We were also impressed with the staff, who were very quick to respond and pleasant, even during busy times and odd hours. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Graves again if I was spending time in downtown Minneapolis.

Room Tip: An upper floor is quieter of course - and if you get one on the front (northwest) side you can look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Between the five-headed shower and our comfortable beds, we'll make sure that you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated! We're thrilled that everyone made you feel so welcome. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you during your next stay in Minneapolis!

Regards,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Address: 601 1st Ave N, Minneapolis, MN 55403-1409 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing