We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Minneapolis, expensive internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The graves hotel is somewhere between a business hotel and a high-end boutique hotel. The decor is modern, but I wouldn't describe it as very opulent.

The location is good, near a mall/target centre.

There is a trendy bar on the 4th floor which gets quite busy on some nights and has a bit of the W Hotel feel to it.

I ordered the tuna tartare on during my last stay and it was pretty good, so I think the room service food there is good enough when required.

One plus here is that I found there to be low-noise from the corridors/other rooms, which for my needs is important in a hotel. Also I was not disturbed by housekeeping people in the morning or anything like that.

The main negative in day to day use is that the internet charge for 24 hours is $19.95 which is totally extortionate. Free internet in hotels is such a nice sweetener for guests, and this would really make a difference for many I believe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foiegras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Sounds like you had a fabulous stay! You really can't beat our location, or our 4th floor bar. You made an excellent choice — the tuna tartare is one of my personal favorites as well. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our WiFi fees. We are looking to improve this in the future, so thanks for pointing this out. Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you next time you're in Minneapolis!

Best,
Patrick, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,691)
There are newer reviews for Loews Minneapolis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,428 - 1,434 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

This motel was right downtown Minneapolis close like3blocks ftom target field and various shoppibg looking forward to another stay great rooms

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Gravesl601 Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thanks for staying with! We hope to see you back again soon.

Best,
Patrick, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had a great experience. From the moment we pulled up we were met with welcoming greetings and help with our luggage. The lobby is unique, modern and posh not to mention clean. The guy who checked us in was very nice and helpful. He asked us if we needed any dinner recommendations and he gave us a few options, one of which we accepted and loved it. We went to our room and my one minor complaint is the elevator situation. From the lobby you take one elevator and then switch elevators and walk past the lounge to get to the guest elevators. Not a deal breaker, I know it helps with safety and it's an older updated building. Our room was nice, clean. The bathroom even had a flat screen tv in it and the shower was nice. The bed and linens were soft and comfortable. My one suggestion is to offer one average size robe and one larger. My husband is 6'2 and it was humorously small on him. Overall, we loved our stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solbonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Gravesl601 Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

I'm thrilled to hear that you all had such a pleasant stay! Thank you for sharing your story with fellow travelers. You left some fantastic information for them! Let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Patrick, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

It's a very nice hotel in a pretty vibrant part of Minneapolis. Comfortable beds, nice decor, friendly staff - the usual things you'd expect from a good hotel. But what really impressed me was the customer service. I upgraded to the better shower (which is very worth it) and was a little disappointed to find that one of the shower heads was broken. Normally, this would not be a big deal, but I had paid extra specifically for the shower (the upgrade is only for the shower - everything else is the same) and so I told the front desk. The clerk apologized and said they'd have engineering look at it, which didn't help since we were leaving.

I filled out a survey they sent, giving them high marks for everything except the shower and the response, which still got decent-to-good marks. Within 2 days they shot me an email telling me they were refunding 50% of the cost of the room, which was well above and beyond what I'd ever expect (the upgrade costs something like 30 bucks). At most I'd have thought they'd comp me the upgrade, and wasn't even really expecting a full comp since 5 out of the 6 heads worked.

It's nice to see that in a business environment in which profit tends to be king, there are still some businesses out there that take customer service seriously. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Take the $30 upgrade for the better shower.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Charles,

We believe that fantastic customer service can transform a good stay into a luxurious one. I'm sorry that your shower heads were not fully functioning, but I'm thrilled that we could get this taken care of to your satisfaction. Thank you for sharing your story. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Graves 601 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent the night here after attending a concert at Target Field. Perfect location for anyone going to a Twins game or any other event at Target Field. They were very accomodating in getting us checked in quite early. Very nice hotel. Very comfortable beds and a fantastic shower with full body jets. Beautiful setting. Nice bar. Rooms are quite expensive but can be worth it depending on why you are staying there.

Room Tip: We did call in at 10am and ask to talk to the front desk about checking in early. Also you must val...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWMNMomofboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Yes, we're in the ideal location to access all the fun that Minneapolis has to offer! It's great to hear how happy you were with both your room and our staff. I'll be sure to pass this on to them! Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Graves 601 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nice hotel, clean, comfy bed and nice staff... Room was a little on the smaller side. Great location but major downfall is the parking... $18 for public parking with a short walk or $28 for extremely busy valet parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caligirlatheart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thanks for staying with us! It sounds like you had a lovely time here in Minneapolis. I'm sorry that you were disappointed in our parking situation. We are in a bustling area, and as such, parking can be difficult. We certainly do what we can to take that hassle out of your hands! Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you next time you're in town.

Regards,
Graves 601 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a Twins Game and I couldn't have choosen a more perfect hotel! As soon as we walked in, we were welcomed by a very nice gentleman. The front desk staff were very helpful and polite. I loved the modern look and feel of the hotel. Very clean! Perfect location near Target Field, great resturants and bars. This is my all time favorite hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Mandy,

Thanks for staying with us! You're right — we're in the perfect location to enjoy the game and a night on the town afterwards. Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you next time you're in Minneapolis!

Regards,
Graves 601 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave N, Minneapolis, MN 55403-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $184 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing