We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Butcher & The Boar

Butcher & The Boar
Reserve with OpenTable
Butcher & The Boar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,793 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $44
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th Street
Transit: Direct line stops on the #4 and #6 routes along Hennepin.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Beer, brat, and a shot. What more can you say, its the perfect start to the night and the food is always amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    195
    52
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
636 reviews
463 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Loved the experience!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were celebrating a milestone in our lives and we chose this wonderful restaurant! The evening was incredible.

Inspired: Donald B was awesome!

Atmosphere: lively with good vibe

Food: fantastic esp the duck breast and spareribs

Service: excellent and they we could BYOB

Return: absolutely

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 275GTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Meat Lover's Paradist”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We dined at Butcher and the Boar with friends in June 2014. This was our first time although our friends had been before. We had a reservation and were seated immediately. Our table had broken glass on it and we notified our server of this. It was cleaned up relatively quickly. The restaurant is crowded with tables so it is a little difficult to maneuver around to get to and from your table. It is also one large room so it is quite loud and challenging to hear your co-diners at times. Service was friendly, prompt and helpful.

They have an extensive bourbon list and are quite known for it, however, we ordered beer instead. If you are familiar with MN craft brews, then you will be quite pleased with their local selection. They also carry many other varieties from across the US.

The food is of course what they are most known for. It is served family style so the food is meant to be shared with everyone at the table. We ordered the green chorizo, the Berkshire pork and cheddar, the double cut smoked pork chop and for sides the skillet corn bread, blackened cauliflower, and fried green tomatoes.

Starting with the sides, the corn bread was okay but nothing special or made it stand out. The honey butter it was served with was fine. Better corn bread can be had at Red Stone American Grill. The fried green tomatoes were nice and firm, lightly breaded and not mushy or watery. These were done quite well. The blackened cauliflower was the best of the sides. Even if you find cauliflower bland (which my spouse and I do), this had wonderful flavor and texture. It was almost addictive and I highly recommend it.

For the main courses, the double cut smoked pork chop was perfectly cooked and was easily composed of at least three pork chops in size. The smoke was light and the meat was juicy. There honestly wasn't anything wrong with the pork chop itself, and I could have said this was the best pork chop I have ever had. Could have said that except I have had the smoked pork chop at The Bachelor Farmer and that is HANDS DOWN far superior to Butcher and the Boar's pork chop. If you really want a well-seasoned, smoked and cooked pork chop, head to The Bachelor Farmer instead. The Berkshire pork and cheddar was very good but I actually thought the cheese was overkill. I love cheese and usually am a firm believer that it should be in absolutely everything, but I thought it just made the sausage very heavy and greasy when the pork itself was quite good on its own. The piece de resistance of the meats was the green chorizo, Best. Sausage. Ever. It looks freaky because it truly is all green in color, but the herb flavors mixed with the pork make for a surprising and heavenly combination. Don't let the color scare you as this will be the best thing you will have had in a very long time - I promise!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A-mazing!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Love this place. Hands down best place to eat in the cities. Everything top notch! We got the long rib to share and the sweet potato!

Helpful?
1 Thank SirTravelAL0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meat and Whisky Galore”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you love grilled meat and/or if you love bourbon and rye, you must go here. They have an extensive selection of meats of all varieties, including my choice of a spicy boar sausage (finished on the grill) and 14-hour smoked beef rib (finished on the grill), which were outstanding. To match an extensive meat menu is one of the most extensive selections of bourbons and ryes I have seen, including sampler tasting menus (3-4 pages worth). I went for the sazerac cocktail and manhattan, which were both nicely done. The inside dining is pleasant, with dark wood paneling and an open kitchen, with a lot of people settled in but not too crowded together. Includes an outdoor dining area and beer garden. Pricey, but worth a visit. Reservations suggested, as it draws a crowd.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher & The Boar also viewed

 

Been to Butcher & The Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing