We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service”
Review of Butcher & The Boar

Butcher & The Boar
Reserve with OpenTable
Butcher & The Boar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,808 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th Street
Transit: Direct line stops on the #4 and #6 routes along Hennepin.
Cologne, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This restaurant has been on our list for a long time and it didn't disappoint. We were able to make a reservation at a reasonable time two days prior to our visit, and we were seated promptly when we arrived.

We ordered the wood smoked oysters to start and they were excellent. Since it was just the two of us, we decided to go with the sampler plates. We loved the charcuterie plate. The sausage sampler plate was ok, but didn't really live up to the raves I've heard about it. The service throughout our meal was excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saintniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    202
    59
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“sit at the bar, and don't plan to drive!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We did not have a reservation on a Sat night and they were busy (2 people were going to have to wait an hour plus I think) so we opted to sit at the bar and I'm so glad we did. The bartenders were incredible, and made some amazing drinks. They have tons of bourbons and they know there stuff. Very informative, and when we told the guy it was our anniversary he gave us each a shot. Each drink was better than the last, tell them what you like/don't like and let them custom design a drink for you. Oh, and the food. Yum. We had the sausage sampler and fried green tomatoes. It was plenty of food for 2 people. The portions are huge (the people next to us had some delicious looking ribs that could feed a whole family). Great assortment of sausages with toppings, although do be aware that one of the ones we had was on the spicy side (I'm a wimp). But still great flavor. We actually talked about going back a second night! It wasn't cheap, but worth it for a nice meal and given the great service, good quality food and interesting choices it was worth a splurge.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bubbles911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner!!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

FirSt make a reservation! The portions here are amazingly big and worth the price. If you're ordering an appetizer, plan to bring home some leftovers. I had the spare ribs and they were made to perfection. If I ever return to Minneapolis, this place would be on top of my list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RinSunPhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very good, a bit pricy”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I had the boar sausage with a side of fried green tomatoes. The sausage was very good with spicy mustard and small slices of jalapeno peppers. It is not spicy hot if you avoid the peppers. The fried green tomatoes were good but I would try something else next time. The steaks at a nearby table looked great. One was huge, may explain why the prices are on the high side. Parking in the area is a problem. Valet costs $9. I would return.

Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Food, Too Noisy for Business Meeting”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Both the food and service were very good here. However, we were a group of 8 here for a business dinner on a local recommendation. Our first table was in the open area near the kitchen and it was downright impossible to hear anyone but the person sitting directly next to you. We asked to be moved to a semi-private room, which had some amount of separation from the main dining room. Here, we could carry on a conversation in raised voices. Wasn't perfect, but was better. I've still given it a "very good" rating because I'm sure, under other circumstances, this would be a great place for a fun and lively dinner. Beware though, it's just not well-suited for a business dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher & The Boar also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Butcher & The Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing