We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So accessible and richly displayed”

The Museum of Russian Art
Ranked #13 of 207 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Russian Art is the only museum in North America devoted to preserving and presenting all forms of Russian art and artifacts. Housed in a beautifully renovated historic building, the Museum’s multi-level galleries provide a tranquil and intimate setting for TMORA’s exhibitions and educational events. Now on view: Women in Soviet Art: focusing on the representation and self-representation of women in Soviet art, this exhibition explores the roles and perspectives of women under the Soviet system from the 1950s–1980s.Jewish Life in the Russian Empire: Exhibited for the first time in 1867 at the seminal ethnographic exhibit in Moscow, the photographs depict a unique record of Jewish life in Tsarist Russia. It tells the story of Jewish communities within the Pale of Settlement, a region where permanent residency of Jewish peoples was allowed. Jewish Life in the Russian Empire will be on display in the lower gallery.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“So accessible and richly displayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Grateful to the founder of this museum for bringing slices of the Russian "cake" for our close review here in Minnesota. This is a beautifully-curated "jewel" set here in south Minneapolis! The re-purposing of the previous congregational church building/structure is masterfully executed; art itself.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rod_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    56
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very good, small museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a small museum, but its collection is highly focused and very informative. It is a little bit out of the downtown area, but is very conveniently located off I-35.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 499tomw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

This place was on my 'list' for years and when at last I visited I was delighted. What a lovely building….and both exhibitions that I saw were outstanding. It's a pity that this place is not more widely known. Even the gift shop was delightful, and I'm not usually enthralled by the retail side of museums and galleries.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CameliaSinensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
401 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful art side trip while in Minneapolis!! The gift shop is amazing, lots of teas to try! Very relaxed and fascinating!

Helpful?
Thank RitaBrandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Skip the museum and go straight to the gift shop.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was visiting from out of town yesterday, and thought I would stop by as the reviews on Tripadvisor were so strong. I was very disappointed with the special exhibit downstairs. 10 paintings of fog is a few too many for myself. I did like the paintings of clouds better, but still at $9 per person I was expecting more.

The gift shop was very nice. Lots of color, detail, and variety. I would have been very interested to see an exhibit based on the beautiful Russian stacking dolls from the gift shop.

I was very glad I left my four children (6-13 years) at home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KMc4528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Russian Art also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Russian Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing