We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Museum”

The Museum of Russian Art
Ranked #11 of 208 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Russian Art is the only museum in North America devoted to preserving and presenting all forms of Russian art and artifacts. Housed in a beautifully renovated historic building, the Museum’s multi-level galleries provide a tranquil and intimate setting for TMORA’s exhibitions and educational events. Now on view: Women in Soviet Art: focusing on the representation and self-representation of women in Soviet art, this exhibition explores the roles and perspectives of women under the Soviet system from the 1950s–1980s.Jewish Life in the Russian Empire: Exhibited for the first time in 1867 at the seminal ethnographic exhibit in Moscow, the photographs depict a unique record of Jewish life in Tsarist Russia. It tells the story of Jewish communities within the Pale of Settlement, a region where permanent residency of Jewish peoples was allowed. Jewish Life in the Russian Empire will be on display in the lower gallery.
Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We absolutely loved visiting this museum. The gentleman at the reception desk was friendly, knowledgeable and engaging. The Russian art and icons are impressive, and we spend a considerable amount of time there. We especially liked the gift shop. I don't think that I have seen one quite as nice before. A large selection of high quality merchandise from Russia. The gift shop attendant was also knowledgeable and engaging.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vette77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    58
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem of a museum”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is an extraordinary museum, with a singular focus on Russian art. Their permanent collection is impressive, and their special shows are worth seeing also. They have a nice gift shop too. I've visited a half-dozen times and have always enjoyed it. Plan to spend a few hours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mczeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Small but wonderful rotating exhibits”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We always went to this when the exhibits changed using the free pass from the Hennepin County Library. Now that the passes are no longer available, we still go and have no issue paying the admission fee, which is nominal.

This is an amazing, world-class museum that will educate, enlighten and engage you using the art of Russia. A community treasure, and is the only museum in North America dedicated to the preservation and presentation of Russian art and artifacts -- how great is that!

Exhibitions are changed 4-6 times a year so you are able to visit again. Free parking is available across the street at the Mayflower Church. Elevators and handicap accessible so everyone can enjoy the history.

Gift shop has some interesting items and I bought a print of the milkmaids there for my sister -- it reminded her of the trip she took when it was still the USSR.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RileyRants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Museum/gallery/showpiece”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is worth a visit not so much for the art (which I find I can take or leave, depending on mood) but to look at a very well thought out conversion of a building from one use to another. I'm not sure to whom the credit goes, but check it out if adaptation is on your agenda.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LittleManitou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming out of the way museum”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This Museum deserves more attention. Small, house in a wonderfully restored building, the quality of its collection more than makes up for its size. Go, you will not be disapointed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BKE687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Russian Art also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Russian Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing