We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gorgeous Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Russian Art

The Museum of Russian Art
Ranked #14 of 199 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Russian Art is the only museum in North America devoted to preserving and presenting all forms of Russian art and artifacts. Housed in a beautifully renovated historic building, the Museum’s multi-level galleries provide a tranquil and intimate setting for TMORA’s exhibitions and educational events. Now on view: Women in Soviet Art: focusing on the representation and self-representation of women in Soviet art, this exhibition explores the roles and perspectives of women under the Soviet system from the 1950s–1980s.Jewish Life in the Russian Empire: Exhibited for the first time in 1867 at the seminal ethnographic exhibit in Moscow, the photographs depict a unique record of Jewish life in Tsarist Russia. It tells the story of Jewish communities within the Pale of Settlement, a region where permanent residency of Jewish peoples was allowed. Jewish Life in the Russian Empire will be on display in the lower gallery.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I loved this building as much as I loved the artwork. We went to see a special exhibit: "Dinner With the Tsars: Russian Imperial Porcelain." The collection was very impressive (from Oshkosh, WI), as was the rest of the museum. I highly recommend this museum!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    48
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I wanted to like this place. It has some gold crosses downstairs, which I think was a special exhibit. The other two floors and blurry, heavy oil paintings. Not my style. That was it. No eggs, no ceramics, nothing. Disappointing. Go to the art MN institute of arts. Free and much better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank twintipbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice little gem of a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Beautiful paintings and exhibits. The gift shop has wonderful items, especially at Christmas and Easter.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lovely building, smaller scale with maximum impact. Very well conceived spaces carved out of it's previous lives and uses. The staff is very personable. The exhibits we saw were stimulating. The location and room where the generously sized gift shop is located is particularly beautiful. It is well worth your time to visit this welcome addition to the Art Museums located within the Twin Cities.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful space - great gift shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This brilliant renovation was done by local architect Julie Snow - gallery above the sanctuary of the former MayFlower church - now located across the street. Amazing permanent collection of post war soviet art and pre fall of the wall. Great traveling exhibitions - check the website for current shows etc.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Russian Art also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Russian Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing