We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confusing place to eat...and not shy about their prices!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rye Delicatessen - CLOSED

Rye Delicatessen
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Confusing place to eat...and not shy about their prices!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

You have very limited parking here...and when you do arrive...you have to stare at the menuboard to understand it. It's not a good layout...very difficult to understand and takes way too long to figure out what to order.

That said, once you do order, the food comes out quickly and is served to you at the table. The portions were good, but the prices were also hefty.

Minneapolis and St. Paul have no good deli's. Rye is trying, but I think they have a long way to go. It's not on my list to go back to anytime soon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Backstreets1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meh!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in early on a Friday evening. Is this supposed to be a deli or a sports bar? Service was indifferent. The food was dry and disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Johndraws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Excellent smoked meat. Excellent pickles and also excellent fries. Ray ray cocktail is a refreshing celery-based alternative to a gin-and-tonic. Carrot cake is unique - dense with a ginger touch (I liked it, my wife did not). They now have table service after 5. Overall a good casual and unique restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
977 reviews
574 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“No, go to Cecil's in St. Paul instead”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is going to be, for me, a rare, negative review so I'm going to give a number of details
My companion and I went to Rye's for Saturday lunch, a time when Cecil's in St. Paul would be packed. Rye's was perhaps 1/2 full. Bad sign. Justified, we learned.
1. Matzo ball soup was by far the worst I've tried in 50 years. Really. It was slimy, inedible.
We mentioned this to the person who brought the food to our table. He told the manager who came over, apologized, made clear that this is how they make it. He gave us a $10 gift certificate and an apology that we did not like it. That was gracious but the soup was awful.
2. Tried the cheese blintzes - at Cecils, the late Brothers and Lincoln Dell, these were done correctly, with a very dry taste, making the strawberry jam they often (as at Rye and the other delis mentioned) a great contrast. But Rye's cheese blintzes don't have much taste.
3. Open faced reuben was ok. Again, not in the same league with that at Cecil's in St. Paul.
4. Music was loud, even after we asked them to turn it down.
5. If you are looking for someone to come to your table and wait on you, this is not the place. You go to a counter and order. Then they bring food to you. Not awful, but if you are looking to sit down, review the menu and then have someone take your order, this is not your place.
6. Omlet my companion had was ok, not great, but not worth driving 20 minutes for.
7. There is a small parking lot next to the restaurant (and despite the address, the entrance is from the parking lot, not on Hennepin. You may have to block half block away - not a big deal, but parking is not as good as it is at Cecil's.

The manager was nice and we appreciated the $10 gift certificate. But neither of us would return. Given the modest number of people there at noon on a Saturday, I think the market is speaking - and apparently lots of people agree. Because on Saturday at noon, Cecils in St. Paul is packed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly Neighborhood Bar and Deli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very friendly staff, bartenders know their stuff, and of course they have Rye whiskey, so they can make a Manhattan correctly. Try the Rye Uptown Manhattan.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BKE687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rye Delicatessen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing